cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Virgin business hub periodically refusing to resolve DNS requests for clients

davids355
On our wavelength

First of all, I am contacting you guys on behalf of a business customer - I hope it is OK to be posting here with my issue.

Secondly, to my issue - I have a Hitron router provided by Virgin and a strange issue in that, every now and then (Normally every couple of days) the router stops providing a response to DNS queries from client devices. The result for the end user is that the internet stops working until the router is restarted.

I am an IT engineer providing support on behalf of this particular client and as such, I have done some troubleshooting as follows - 

First of all, I have established that it happens every couple of days and once the issue occurs, it will not resolve itself until the router is restarted.

Secondly, if I do a ping test from the routers web portal, the DNS works as expected - for example I can use the ping command in the routers web portal and put in google.co.uk, to which it will reply with the google IP address, as expected. So the router is not down as such, it just refuses to give this information to clients.

To stop the issue from causing too much of a problem, I have now assigned static DNS addresses to the client computers - 1.1.1.1 for primary and 192.168.2.1 for secondary. This means they can still function when the DNS stops working on the router.

To continue troubleshooting the issue, I ran an nslookup command from the client devices as follows - 

nslookup google.co.uk 192.168.2.1 (The routers IP address).

When its working, the command returns the correct IP, but once it stops working, I get the following error - 

puma7-atom.hitronhub.home can't find google.co.uk: Query refused