Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Virgin Media Peering with OVH

alasdairc
On our wavelength

Hi all,

I hope you are all well

I am having a few issues with what I can only assume is networking peering to OVH. I am a Linux Engineer by trade and also run my own dedicated GAME-2 servers using Proxmox with OVH for various personal purposes, including game servers. I have no issue with Virgin Media overall, but I seem to experience a higher average ping/latency response than most, even more than users who are a further distance away from the data center in Erith, London. These users are on Sky or BT, which uses the Openreach network as you will probably know.

I know it's nothing excessive, and don't want to come across as being awkward but response times to my servers are between 18-24ms, whereas other users of my game services, at a further distance away can be as low as 8ms and <1 ms for those in and around London.

My own set up, here at home, originally was the M500 package with my networking set up as both the Hub 3 in Router mode and also in Modem-only mode with a TP-Link ER605 doing routing. I am now on Gig1, also in modem-only mode, with the TP-Link router. All devices, except mobile phones are on Cat6 ethernet and the "higher" latency is seen across all ethernet devices. 

It's worth noting, I am not having any problems with speed, just latency to services on different peered networks. OVH to OVH services globally (I run Smokeping latency monitoring and also Zabbix ICMP latency monitoring from Canada, Singapore and Australia to the game servers) are absolutely fine so the problem seems to be between Virgin Media to OVH itself

Simple ping from my home to one of the public Failover IP's (also the same results for the physical host itself):

Reply from PUBLICIP: bytes=32 time=21ms TTL=49
Reply from PUBLICIP: bytes=32 time=17ms TTL=49
Reply from PUBLICIP: bytes=32 time=20ms TTL=49