cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

VM Hub 4 (Modem) with Tenda AC23 AC1000 Router

Driver1984
Joining in

Good evening,

We know the issues with the Hub 4 are well documented, particularly the range of 5 gHz and the almost non-existent 2.4 gHz, which led me to purchase a 3rd party router.

Having read several pages on how to setup the 3rd party Router, they all suggest to set the Connection Type as: Static IP Address, which I duly did.

This evening, less than a week after setting up the Router, we lost internet connection.

Whilst fault finding I reconnected the VM Hub 4 to the laptop I ran CMD: ipconfig/all and discovered that the IP Address and Default Gateway had changed.

Is this normal? Has anyone else experienced this?

Should I change the Connection Type to Dynamic IP (DHCP)?  If doing this, can anyone advise how best to set this up?  I am a complete novice.

Thanks in advance. 

5 REPLIES 5

legacy1
Alessandro Volta

@Driver1984 wrote:

Having read several pages on how to setup the 3rd party Router, they all suggest to set the Connection Type as: Static IP Address, which I duly did.

You read several pages saying that?

Change the WAN on your router to DHCP with the hub in modem mode power off for 2mins turn backup unplug replug ethernet till you get internet by your router.

---------------------------------------------------------------

Thanks for the reply, legacy1.

Yes: several pages and a couple of videos, too.

Apart from powering - what I assume to be only the Hub 4 - off and on, and dis- and re-connecting the ethernet, is there any additional information I need to input when I change to DHCP?

@Driver1984 wrote:

Apart from powering - what I assume to be only the Hub 4 - off and on, and dis- and re-connecting the ethernet, is there any additional information I need to input when I change to DHCP?

Should work with the Tenda AC23 AC1000 Router set to default.