cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Use VM Router as Modem Mode and Connect EE Smart Hub

Auri
Joining in

Hi, I need a bit of a hand.

Im trying to connect my VM router 3 as a modem mode, and then connect my EE smart hub as the primary source for the routing, to access wirelessly/ethernet to the internet.

I have changed the VM router to Modem Mode, and then connected my EE smart hub (latest white Router), from LAN port 1 on the VM router, to the WAN (Red) port on the EE smart Hub. (the VM Router is on Magenta colour for the Modem Mode)
However the light stays on yellow the whole time, and cant access the internet.

i have looked online, and some people say I need to change WAN settings on the EE smart hub. However on the EE smart hub admin settings, there is nothing to change WAN Settings. So Im stuck, and no idea what to do.
Is it to change the DHCP ip range, is it to setup a DNS or?

If you reply, please help with step by step, as Im not very tech savvy when it comes to networks.

Cheers

12 REPLIES 12

g0akc
Problem sorter

@Auri wrote:

and i guess theres no way to turn the EE PPPoE protocol into one that will work with VM?

No.

The BT and EE Smart Hubs like that come in two types - the FTTP type has one of the Ethernet sockets set as a WAN port, and marked in red at the factory.  The VDSL (copper line) type has all of the Eth. sockets set for LAN use.  In some, later. firmwares I recall it's possible to change that port usage.  However, the WAN is only PPPoE - and it's domain locked so it will only work with a provider that uses PPPoE, and with a BT/EE/Plusnet etc. domain in the username.

This is what I meant in that it is not a true Ethernet WAN port - that would require it to be set for different authentication/connection types including DHCP on the WAN.

Third party routers like the D Link I have here allow for different connection/authentication on their WAN side - including PPPoE and DHCP.