cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Unable to connect TP Link Range Extender

JohnK55
Tuning in

Hi,

I've just tried to connect a TP Link RE200 range extender to my Superhub but it won't connect. I've tried both the long way & WPS but neither work.

Any idea what the problem could be?

18 REPLIES 18

gary_dexter
Alessandro Volta

Won’t connect in what way?

If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
Office 365, Dynamics CRM and Cloud Computing Jedi

Liam_S
Forum Team (Retired)
Forum Team (Retired)

John, are you setting up the extender in a socket near to the hub? If not, the extender may be out of range to connect to the hub.

Once setup, you can then move the device to a suitable location between your hub and the black spot.

Here to help! I'm a technician helping out whilst working from home. Find out more

The extender is less than 3 feet from the hub. It's as though there's no wifi from the hub as I just tried to connect my phone & the hub isn't visible in the list of availbale networks & yes the wifi is switched on I just double checked in case I was having a senior moment!

You’ve not put it into Modem Mode have you?

If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.

No, I think it's an issue with the router as it keeps appearing then disappearing from the available network list.

It's the original superhub so it's quite old.

Is it possible to get a replacement superhub, it looks like I have no Wifi connection to it at all. The devices I have connected by ethernet cable are all working ok

CableTiePhil
Joining in

Hi