Menu
porter214
Joining in
Message 1 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Super hub 3 Wifi

So i’ve been having this problem ever since i moved from a super hub 2, every 10 minutes or so, the wifi on ipads, iphones and generally anything connected around the house will stop working for about 2 minutes, but it will not show it has disconnected. This problem has been happening a solid 2 years now and ive finally decided to get it sorted. I am a telecom engineer my self and have tried all basic diagnostics such as changing channels and things like that in the router programme but nothing has ever made it better, if i cannot get it sorted i am thinking of putting it into modem mode with a tp link router.

I have 5 things wired into the router which all wrk fine and never ever cut out or experience issues

0 Kudos
jbrennand
Alessandro Volta
Message 2 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Super hub 3 Wifi

If you haven't done this already - try it first - it helps sort quite a few Hub3 wifi issues.   Go into the Hub3 settings... (type in  http://192.168.0.1  or  http://192.168.100.1 into your web browser’s url box) and in "smart wifi" (if you have it)  disable "channel optimisation".  Then, in advanced>wireless>security, rename the 2.4 & 5 GHz network ssid's.  Just change 'em to whatever you like and something that will differentiate them (e.g - xxxxx2 & xxxxx5) -- use the same password  if you like,  Then, save settings and restart the Hub.  Your 2 wifi networks will now be clearly separated - and you can then select the network you want to connect to individually from the "available networks" list on each device.  5 GHz is usually better and subject to less interference than the 2.4 one - although this one has the better "range" and some older/cheaper devices can only use this one.  See if that helps.  If not your own router or wifi access point would almost certainly sort it.

--------------------
John
--------------------