Menu
Reply
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Nathjones28
Joining in
297 Views
Message 1 of 10
Flag for a moderator

SMARTHUB CONNECTION HELP

Hello,

I’m new to Virgin, I had my install four days ago, however I’m finding my broadband speed varies drastically. Sometimes my connect will be 200mbps, other times it drops as low as 15mbps. 

My WiFi connection also drops out on various occasions, and my router has done 3 restarts on its own since Monday. 

Anyone have any advice? 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 19.32K
  • 1.68K
  • 4.23K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
281 Views
Message 2 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: SMARTHUB CONNECTION HELP

Would need to check the signal levels if could go to http://192.168.0.1 or if using modem mode http://192.168.100.1 clicking router status top right or bottom of page depending on hub [no need to login - depending on hub] and if could copy/paste the downstream, upstream, network log, don't worry about the formatting we can easily read it.. try and avoid using screen shots..

when your doing the speed tests is this via wired/wireless?, if wireless can you test via wired

As a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share my knowledge. I don't work for Virgin Media.

Click to learn more about VIP

Use Kudos to say thanks

 

Mark as Helpful Answer if I've helped

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Nathjones28
Joining in
266 Views
Message 3 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: SMARTHUB CONNECTION HELP

Why is there errors from May? When I only had the kit for the last week?

 

Network Log

Time Priority Description

30/05/2019 09:31:50ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
30/05/2019 09:31:53Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
30/05/2019 09:33:26ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
30/05/2019 09:33:29ErrorDHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
30/05/2019 09:33:45Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
30/05/2019 14:20:43Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
30/05/2019 14:20:53Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
31/05/2019 03:18:31Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
31/05/2019 03:18:36Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/06/2019 01:01:16criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/06/2019 01:01:16Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/06/2019 01:01:16criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/06/2019 01:01:20Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:01:45criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
28/06/2019 07:22:48noticeUnit has been restored to factory defaults from a software issued command;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
03/01/1970 00:02:14criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
22/07/2019 17:28:47ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
22/07/2019 17:56:26ErrorDHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
22/07/2019 17:56:26noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-rtsxl20016u+voc-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
22/07/2019 21:02:26criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;


Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

1461999324.375512064 qam1
2258000004.375512064 qam4
3325999594.375512064 qam3
4394000534.375512064 qam2



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

1450750000-140256 qam31
21947500001.740256 qam8
32027500001.740256 qam9
42107500001.740256 qam10
52187500001.740256 qam11
62267500001.440256 qam12
72347500001.240256 qam13
8242750000140256 qam14
92507500001.240256 qam15
102587500001.240256 qam16
112667500001.240256 qam17
12274750000140256 qam18
132827500001.240256 qam19
14290750000140256 qam20
15298750000140256 qam21
163067500000.940256 qam22
173147500000.740256 qam23
183227500000.740256 qam24
19402750000-0.740256 qam25
20410750000-0.540256 qam26
21418750000-140256 qam27
22426750000-1.240256 qam28
23434750000-140256 qam29
24442750000-0.940256 qam30



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked40.300
2Locked40.950
3Locked40.950
4Locked40.350
5Locked40.960
6Locked40.370
7Locked40.350
8Locked40.950
9Locked40.990
10Locked40.360
11Locked40.960
12Locked40.360
13Locked40.350
14Locked40.960
15Locked40.360
16Locked40.350
17Locked40.370
18Locked40.350
19Locked40.9160
20Locked40.3180
21Locked40.350
22Locked40.330
23Locked40.960
24Locked40.360
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 19.32K
  • 1.68K
  • 4.23K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
247 Views
Message 4 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: SMARTHUB CONNECTION HELP

Those stats all showing fine, since hub 3 are requested back by virginmedia possible might be a reconditioned hub


As a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share my knowledge. I don't work for Virgin Media.

Click to learn more about VIP

Use Kudos to say thanks

 

Mark as Helpful Answer if I've helped

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Nathjones28
Joining in
244 Views
Message 5 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: SMARTHUB CONNECTION HELP

Or a faulty hub.....

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 19.32K
  • 1.68K
  • 4.23K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
241 Views
Message 6 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: SMARTHUB CONNECTION HELP

Possible


As a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share my knowledge. I don't work for Virgin Media.

Click to learn more about VIP

Use Kudos to say thanks

 

Mark as Helpful Answer if I've helped

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Nathjones28
Joining in
236 Views
Message 7 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: SMARTHUB CONNECTION HELP

So what’s the solution? 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 1.66K
  • 92
  • 168
Forum Team
Forum Team
200 Views
Message 8 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: SMARTHUB CONNECTION HELP

Hi there Nathjones28, 

 

Thanks for posting - sorry that you're having some issues with your broadband at the moment. 

 

Are you having the speed issues via a wired connection as well as a WiFi connection? 

 

Have you tried any self diagnostics via our free Connect App? We also have our in-app help team that you can message if you are still having issues after going through the checks. 

 

Let us know how things are after a reboot and over a wired connection.

 

Cheers

Katie - Forum Team


New around here? To find out more about the Community check out our Getting Started guide


0 Kudos
Reply
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Nathjones28
Joining in
192 Views
Message 9 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: SMARTHUB CONNECTION HELP

The issue is wireless. It continually drops from devices. 
the WiFi tool shows me that I have good connection in all rooms. 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 12.63K
  • 482
  • 1.13K
legacy1
Alessandro Volta
187 Views
Message 10 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: SMARTHUB CONNECTION HELP

Router mode is buggy use the hub in modem mode and get your own wireless router with 1Gb ports.

0 Kudos
Reply