Menu
Reply
  • 3
  • 0
  • 0
jswalker2
Joining in
206 Views
Message 1 of 6
Flag for a moderator

SH3 5G keeps going down

Hello there, new to the forum, will try to keep this as short as possible.

We are on 350Mb internet and have the superhub 3. 

Noticed a couple of weeks ago that the 5g kept booting all devices off and then they would all connect to the 2g.

Spoke to the unhelpline and arranged to get an engineer out, who put a brand new hub in and seemed to fix the issue whilst he was here. He also said the upstream was -52 and they would send someone out to fix this. Nobody ever came.

Within 3 hours of him leaving exactly the same problem occurred.

Arranged a second engineer who checked the cabling in the cabinet and said he had repaired our connection and the software download for the new hub was corrupted and it would be fine now as the connection was sorted.

He factory reset the hub and all seemed well. 

Now am I having to factory reset the hub twice a day to get the 5g back and working. As this is a new hub, I thought I would conduct my own test by visiting my parents who also have a SH3. Turns out their 5g wasn't working either and a factory reset also fixed theirs.

I therefore have come to the conclusion that the latest hub software which may have been rolled out 3 weeks ago has got an issue which causes the 5g to drop out every few hours.

Seems a bit strange that my parents hub is having exactly the same issue even though they hadn't noticed due to not having many wireless devices.

I would like to know what everybody else thinks and how I can get virgin to remedy the situation as another engineer is booked to visit again, but as the hub has been replaced and the cabling checked, what else can he do?

Kind regards

John

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 21.83K
  • 626
  • 3.66K
Sephiroth
Alessandro Volta
201 Views
Message 2 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Re: SH3 5G keeps going down

It takes a week or so for the VM bods to get to your thread. In the meantime we could do some triage, having regard to the 52 dBm comment made by the technician. So, kindly copy/paste your downstream and upstream stats by logging in to 192.168.0.1 in hit the ROUTER STATUS link in the lower middle screen.

If the upstream is at 52 dBm, then the circuit could be flapping and when it comes back, you get reconnected.

On the 5GHz thing, have you changed the WiFi SSIDs from the single one defaulted in the Hub 3? The best bet is to separate out 2G and 5G by naming separate SSIDs for the respective WiFi radios. Just add the suffixes -2G and -5G. That should keep a stable connection provided that the circuit is up.

Keep us posted.

Seph - ( DEFROCKED - My advice is at your risk)

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 3
  • 0
  • 0
jswalker2
Joining in
187 Views
Message 3 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Re: SH3 5G keeps going down


Hello there,

Thank you for your reply, please see below for the router upstream/downstream readouts

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

16822500000.538256 qam28
26742500000.538256 qam27
3666250000038256 qam26
4658250000038256 qam25
5594250000038256 qam24
6586250000-0.238256 qam23
7578250000-0.238256 qam22
8570250000-0.238256 qam21
9562250000038256 qam20
10554250000-0.238256 qam19
11546250000-0.538256 qam18
12538250000-0.538256 qam17
13530250000-0.438256 qam16
14522250000038256 qam15
15514250000038256 qam14
16506250000-0.438256 qam13
174982500000.238256 qam12
184902500000.438256 qam11
194822500000.538256 qam10
204742500000.238256 qam9
214662500000.238256 qam8
224582500000.538256 qam7
234502500000.738256 qam6
244422500000.438256 qam5



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked38.6330
2Locked38.9200
3Locked38.9370
4Locked38.6370
5Locked38.9270
6Locked38.6330
7Locked38.6540
8Locked38.6800
9Locked38.9660
10Locked38.91030
11Locked38.61070
12Locked38.91050
13Locked38.9670
14Locked38.9380
15Locked38.9490
16Locked38.9570
17Locked38.6730
18Locked38.6610
19Locked38.6460
20Locked38.6350
21Locked38.6280
22Locked38.6300
23Locked38.6200
24Locked38.9350

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

14620000050.3512016 qam1
23260000048.8512016 qam3
32580000048.5512016 qam4
43940000049.5512016 qam2



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0020
2ATDMA0010
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000

 

As for splitting the networks, yes I have amended the 2g and 5g to the network names, but whenever you try to connect to the 5g, it either fails to connect or tells you the password is incorrect despite meticulously putting it in, or even copying and pasting it from 192.168.0.1 to ensure that it is correct.

Sometimes I can connect to the 5g and it will come up Internet is not available. It will then sit there until i connect to the 2g and find that the internet is working perfectly. On the very rare occasion that it will connect to both 5g and the internet, my internet speed is somewhere around 7mbps and upload is 1, whereas on 2g it is 70 Down and 20 Up.

When I factory reset it and resplit the networks I get around 270 Down and 20 Up on the 5g. I appreciate that the full 350 will not be possible through the wifi, and hard wiring is the only way to ensure that.

Kind regards

John

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 11.7K
  • 347
  • 678
Forum Team (Retired) Samantha_L
Forum Team (Retired)
148 Views
Message 4 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Re: SH3 5G keeps going down

Hi jswalker2,

 

Welcome to the community and thanks for posting.

 

Sorry to read you are having an issue with the 5GHz wireless network.

 

When I checked your line, everything has come back as fine. The upstream power levels are within the range, which is good.

 

You mentioned that you separated the networks, are these still separated or have you gone back to having them broadcasting together?

 

Have you tried to connect just one device at a time to 5GHz to see how it performs? 

 

Speak to you soon

Sam


New around here? To find out more about the Community check out our Getting Started guide


0 Kudos
Reply
  • 3
  • 0
  • 0
jswalker2
Joining in
130 Views
Message 5 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Re: SH3 5G keeps going down

Hello there,

Had my third engineer visit this morning who said that the cables outside our property were loose and he tightened them up.

I'm a little shocked that the other two engineers who came out didn't also check this, especially the one who checked the cable in the cabinet.

At the moment all seems to be working properly

Regards

John

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 5.3K
  • 105
  • 1
Moderator (Retired) Ty_S
Moderator (Retired)
110 Views
Message 6 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Re: SH3 5G keeps going down

Hi jswalker2

 I'm really sorry to hear that you've been experiencing intermittent connection with the 5GHz network. It's great to hear that it's working fine since the engineer visit. Any further problems please let us know.

Thanks,

Ty
 


The do's and don'ts. Keep the community welcoming for all. Follow the house rules


0 Kudos
Reply