Menu
Reply
Danty92
  • 4
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
266 Views
Message 1 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Router Resetting Constantly - PLEASE HELP!!

Help me Virgin Media Community Forum, you're my only hope!

After 5 engineer visits we are at a complete loss as to what is causing our internet to drop out / router to reset.

Time line of events as follows:

- Virgin installed 2 weeks ago, installation engineer tested, customer tested, all fine no issues.

- After engineer leaves, router begins resetting itself continuously, even whilst the incoming internet cable is removed from the router.

- Manage to get use out of modem mode for periods of time, circa 6-8 hours at most before router begins chain resetting again.

- Engineers come out to review, outside cables are replaced, tap under pavement is replaced, router itself has been replaced twice, still the router continues to reset itself after numerous visits.

- Sometimes it will reset after a speed test, sometimes the speed test will complete the download part, but router then resets on the upload part, sometimes router works in modem mode without issue, but will begin resetting itself when we try and switch back to router mode.

Would be grateful if anyone could offer an opinion at all!

Our network logs are as follows (currently in modem mode):

 

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

13870000005.138256 qam32
22030000003.937256 qam9
32110000003.537256 qam10
42190000003.537256 qam11
52270000003.537256 qam12
62350000003.437256 qam13
72430000003.237256 qam14
82510000003.538256 qam15
92590000003.737256 qam16
102670000004.137256 qam17
112750000004.538256 qam18
122830000004.638256 qam19
132910000004.538256 qam20
142990000005.438256 qam21
153070000005.438256 qam22
163150000005.538256 qam23
173230000005.838256 qam24
183310000005.338256 qam25
193390000004.938256 qam26
203470000005.538256 qam27
213550000005.538256 qam28
223630000005.538256 qam29
233710000005.938256 qam30
243790000005.638256 qam31



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked38.900
2Locked37.660
3Locked37.650
4Locked37.640
5Locked37.650
6Locked37.650
7Locked37.300
8Locked38.660
9Locked37.600
10Locked37.600
11Locked38.650
12Locked38.640
13Locked38.900
14Locked38.650
15Locked38.950
16Locked38.650
17Locked38.940
18Locked38.950
19Locked38.600
20Locked38.650
21Locked38.640
22Locked38.940
23Locked38.900
24Locked38.650

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

15370000043.5512064 qam5
26030000043.5512064 qam4
34620000043.5512064 qam6
43940000043.3512016 qam8



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000

 

Network Log

Time Priority Description

13/02/2021 21:54:19noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:01:38criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
0 Kudos
Reply
jpeg1
  • 4.2K
  • 235
  • 668
Community elder
235 Views
Message 2 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Router Resetting Constantly - PLEASE HELP!!

Those figures are all just about perfect.  I suggest you set up a free BQM to monitor the service.

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality

0 Kudos
Reply
Danty92
  • 4
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
221 Views
Message 3 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Router Resetting Constantly - PLEASE HELP!!

many thanks for your feedback - have set up the monitoring service as recommended.

0 Kudos
Reply
Danty92
  • 4
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
146 Views
Message 4 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Router Resetting Constantly - PLEASE HELP!!

After working fine for the majority of the evening, we have woken up today to chain resets, here is the monitor graph so far, does it shed any light at all?

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/322840b2327df97297ad9f09bd9b26eb7f... 

CD45B8A1-B8C4-46F2-9AE3-4FC41A159092.jpeg

0 Kudos
Reply
tehwolf
  • 1.56K
  • 253
  • 379
Superfast
114 Views
Message 5 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Router Resetting Constantly - PLEASE HELP!!

One of your four upstream channels in the logs is only negotiating a QAM of 16 (they should all be 64) - i suppose it's possible that this is a contributory problem to the issues you're seeing, whether it can be entirely responsible though, I'm not sure.

need VM to comment, really.

0 Kudos
Reply
jpeg1
  • 4.2K
  • 235
  • 668
Community elder
96 Views
Message 6 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Router Resetting Constantly - PLEASE HELP!!

Well spotted that 16QAM. Seems to becoming a common feature these days. I doubt that it's responsible for those dropouts though.

0 Kudos
Reply
Danty92
  • 4
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
70 Views
Message 7 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Router Resetting Constantly - PLEASE HELP!!

Just a quick update, after working fine for most of the day, started having chain drop outs at exactly 8pm (same time as yesterday).

0 Kudos
Reply