Menu
Reply
  • 4
  • 0
  • 0
Steve-Bilton
Joining in
145 Views
Message 1 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Regular reboot of Superhub

Facebook bods have sent me here to try to work out what is going on with my Superhub (VMDG480).

It all starts when the WiFi drops, as do the additional wireless routers used to extend the network round the house, usually couple of times a week, sometimes couple of times per day. The Wired network usually continues to work, but will eventually drop if you don't reboot the router.

We've probably been having this issue for a year, it's hard work trying to talk it through with the Support people on the phone after a busy day at work, especially when the Hub is behaving, so we've put up with a periodic 30 second reboot - the kids have become very proficient at it!

So I know you clever people will want to see various logs from the Router, so I would be pleased if you would let me know what is needed to try and sort out the problem.

Cheers, Steve

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 1.62K
  • 107
  • 247
Roger_Gooner
Super solver
135 Views
Message 2 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Re: Regular reboot of Superhub

You have a hub 1 which is notoriously bad in most ways. If you have to use it, it's best put into modem mode.

A member of the form team should be along later and may offer a free upgrade.

--
Hub 3.0, TP-Link Archer C8, TP-Link TL-SG1008D 8-port gigabit switch, V6
  • 13.71K
  • 399
  • 1.58K
Forum Team
Forum Team
118 Views
Message 3 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Re: Regular reboot of Superhub

Hi Steve, 

Thanks for getting in touch though apologies for your wireless disconnections. I have attempted to test your Hub from here but I'm not able to retrieve any data. I wonder if you'd mind trying a factory reset of the Hub please?

If that doesn't help I would like to know what power levels the Hub is reporting:

  • Navigate to 192.168.0.1 in your browser
  • Don't log in - click on Router Status
  • The Downstream tab shows the downstream power levels
  • The Upstream tab shows the upstream power levels
  • Network log should detail any errors the Hub has incurred since rebooting

If there is an issue with the power levels then I'll arrange for an engineer visit. Otherwise I'll provide a replacement Hub on the basis that the one you have currently may be faulty.

Bye for now Smiley Happy


Jen
Forum Team



0 Kudos
Reply
  • 4
  • 0
  • 0
Steve-Bilton
Joining in
102 Views
Message 4 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Re: Regular reboot of Superhub

hi Jen,

I thought I'd replied yesterday. When I got home from work the kids had already rebooted the router - they are well trained. 

I've only just got in today, they've not said they've had to reboot, but there is an entry in the log:

Downstream        
 DS-1DS-2DS-3DS-4DS-5DS-6DS-7DS-8
Frequency (Hz)475000000 Hz483000000 Hz491000000 Hz499000000 Hz507000000 Hz515000000 Hz523000000 Hz531000000 Hz
Lock Status(QAM Lock/FEC Sync/MPEG Lock)LockedLockedLockedLockedLockedLockedLockedLocked
Channel ID910111213141516
ModulationQAM256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM256
Symbol Rate (Msym/sec)6.9526.9526.9526.9526.9526.9526.9526.952
Interleave DepthI=12I=12I=12I=12I=12I=12I=12I=12
J=17J=17J=17J=17J=17J=17J=17J=17
Power Level (dBmV)-1.4 dBmV-1.7 dBmV-1.4 dBmV-1.5 dBmV-1.6 dBmV-1.4 dBmV-1.6 dBmV-1.5 dBmV
RxMER (dB)38.6 dB38.2 dB38.1 dB37.8 dB38.0 dB38.3 dB37.5 dB37.8 dB

 

Upstream    
 US-1US-2US-3US-4
Channel Type22N/AN/A
Channel ID2324N/AN/A
Frequency (Hz)32600000 Hz25800000 HzN/AN/A
Ranging StatusSuccessSuccessN/AN/A
ModulationQAM16QAM16N/AN/A
Symbol Rate (Sym/sec)51200005120000N/AN/A
Mini-Slot Size128128N/AN/A
Power Level (dBmV)48.3 dBmV47.8 dBmVN/AN/A
T1 Timeouts00N/AN/A
T2 Timeouts00N/AN/A
T3 Timeouts00N/AN/A
T4 Timeouts00N/AN/A

 

Network Log    
First TimeLast TimePriorityError NumberDescription
 13/02/2018 19:40:11  13/02/2018 19:40:11  Critical (3)  2436694078  TOD established 

 

Does that help at all?

Thanks

Steve

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 13.71K
  • 399
  • 1.58K
Forum Team
Forum Team
84 Views
Message 5 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Re: Regular reboot of Superhub

Hi Steve,

Apologies as I seem to have missed your posted reply, thus why I'm only just replying. Thank you for providing the additional data. I suspect your Hub may be in need of replacing - it's one of the older models and, though there are no timeouts evident in todays' tests I can see it has only been online for a little over a day. 

I have ordered a replacement for you, though we're not able to offer a like-for-like model. You'll most likely receive one of our newest Hubs, the Hub3.

Here is the general info regarding Hub delivery:

  • The new Hub should arrive within the next few days.
  • The courier, Yodel, will leave contact details should re-delivery arrangements be needed.
  • A text will be sent (to the mobile number we have listed for you) the day prior to delivery advising of an ETA.
  • Full setup and activation instructions will be included.

Keep me updated on how you get on. If you have any issue at all with the new Hub just post on here for support Smiley Happy

 


Jen
Forum Team



0 Kudos
Reply
  • 4
  • 0
  • 0
Steve-Bilton
Joining in
82 Views
Message 6 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Re: Regular reboot of Superhub

Thank you Jen - much appreciated.


Steve

0 Kudos
Reply