Menu
Reply
  • 3
  • 0
  • 0
FibreTastic
Tuning in
285 Views
Message 1 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Poor upload speeds - Normal Down

Hi,

getting poor upload speeds normal download.

Should be 200 up 12 down. Getting 2 up 20 down.

No local area issues reported. Hub 3 and have reset that. and looked at network status. Seems to be loads of RS errors on channels 1-7. Anyone have any ideas if this is likely to be a local issue and I can check?

post channel 10 post RS errors go to 0

Thanks for any thoughts.

ChannelFrequency (Hz)Power (dBmV)SNR (dB)ModulationLocked StatusRxMER (dB)Pre RS ErrorsPost RS Errors
1139000000-3.228256 qamLocked28123299036290308
2147000000-328256 qamLocked28.2121489839105373
3155000000-4.227256 qamLocked27.210623632320899203
4163000000-4.527256 qamLocked27.51200565706770515
5171000000-4.227256 qamLocked27.81241401581843919
6179000000-4.228256 qamLocked28.1122044179134028
7187000000-4.228256 qamLocked28.7105710957776
8195000000-429256 qamLocked29.3787807154
9203000000-429256 qamLocked29.7590224990
10211000000-3.730256 qamLocked30470321480
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 33
  • 1
  • 4
coldfusion0
On our wavelength
265 Views
Message 2 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Poor upload speeds - Normal Down

try turning it off hub for 5 minutes and back on that fix has worked for me 

something goes wrong with Mk 3 hubs that cause upload speed to drop after days of on

  • 19.29K
  • 1.68K
  • 4.23K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
263 Views
Message 3 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Poor upload speeds - Normal Down

downstream too low, power levels are fine, could you post the upstream levels, and network log

As a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share my knowledge. I don't work for Virgin Media.

Click to learn more about VIP

Use Kudos to say thanks

 

Mark as Helpful Answer if I've helped

  • 3
  • 0
  • 0
FibreTastic
Tuning in
251 Views
Message 4 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Poor upload speeds - Normal Down

Sorry should have been poor download speeds.. upload fine.

Have replied this once but not seeing in thread so not sure it posted.

Have reset hub 2 times via pin reset.. so back to factory mode tested in that state and then reset as modem mode as I prefer to use it

Network Log showing lots of recent errors, and one from 1970

13/09/2019 17:16:7ErrorDHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
15/09/2019 17:56:4criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
21/09/2019 12:55:37ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
22/09/2019 20:08:30ErrorDHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
23/09/2019 18:15:31criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
25/09/2019 21:14:48ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
26/09/2019 09:56:45Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
26/09/2019 12:11:59ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
26/09/2019 17:11:7ErrorDHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
27/09/2019 21:01:48criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
28/09/2019 02:25:17Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:02:26criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/09/2019 10:26:39Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/09/2019 10:36:17criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/09/2019 10:36:21Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:01:36criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/09/2019 12:23:30Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:01:38criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/09/2019 12:49:52Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

 

Upload details attached

ChannelFrequency (Hz)Power (dBmV)Symbol Rate (ksps)ModulationChannel TypeT1 TimeoutsT2 TimeoutsT3 TimeoutsT4 Timeouts
1537000004.4512064 qamATDMA0000
2603000004.375512064 qamATDMA0000
3394000004.375512064 qamATDMA0000
4462000004.4512064 qamATDMA0000
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 9.16K
  • 951
  • 1.44K
jbrennand
Alessandro Volta
240 Views
Message 5 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Poor upload speeds - Normal Down

Your downstream SNR's are way to low and too many postRS errors on a few of the low number channels --- indicating noise on the line. Also there should be 24 channels - is 10 all you can see. Logs look "poor" too - someone else should comment on those.
In any case you need a technician's visit to sort it out for you. Call into CS and get them to sort a visit for you. Or a VM person should pick this up on here in a day or two and sort you out

--------------------
Services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
  • 3
  • 0
  • 0
FibreTastic
Tuning in
216 Views
Message 6 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Poor download speeds

Many Thanks Alessandro. Full download channels report is below. Had only posted the first 10 as the high number of RS errors there seemed the most likely cause of slow download speeds.

Got mixed responses from virgin. Ranged from. There are no local issues on the website.. to, oh yes it's a known local issue and will be fixed in a month. Then another person. No we have no local area issues.

I have asked for a Engineer visit which should be next week but wondered if anyone had any thoughts.

ChannelFrequency (Hz)Power (dBmV)SNR (dB)ModulationLocked StatusRxMER (dB)Pre RS ErrorsPost RS Errors
1139000000-2.927256 qamLocked2775079869837583784
2147000000-2.727256 qamLocked27.175986206221699097
3155000000-3.926256 qamLocked26.3429716524369024096
4163000000-4.226256 qamLocked26.5586113891211638458
5171000000-3.926256 qamLocked26.8692021073103133829
6179000000-3.727256 qamLocked27.176174921821473130
7187000000-3.727256 qamLocked27.8723218889637034
8195000000-3.728256 qamLocked28.36004966026448
9203000000-3.728256 qamLocked28.7491866770140
10211000000-3.529256 qamLocked293972678063
11219000000-329256 qamLocked29.23155132390
12227000000-2.929256 qamLocked29.62540641880
13235000000-2.729256 qamLocked29.72080534680
14243000000-2.729256 qamLocked29.82090419350
15251000000-2.529256 qamLocked29.72060652020
16259000000-2.929256 qamLocked29.82096209980
17267000000-2.530256 qamLocked301758336850
18275000000-2.730256 qamLocked30.21437580710
19283000000-2.230256 qamLocked30.41088501550
20291000000-2.230256 qamLocked30.31058960880
21299000000-1.730256 qamLocked30.31088631880
22307000000-1.730256 qamLocked30.31168785900
23315000000-1.930256 qamLocked30.21416422120
24323000000-1.530256 qamLocked30.11442168970
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 1.61K
  • 80
  • 111
Forum Team
Forum Team
171 Views
Message 7 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Poor download speeds

Thanks for coming back to us FibreTastic,

 

Do please update us once the engineer you've requested has visited your property and if we need to take further action, we will seek to do so.

 

Have you been advised if the area outage has been cleared or if you have any such as high utilisation in your local area at all?

 

Kindest regards,

 

David_Bn

0 Kudos
Reply