cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Orange LED on New Hub 3

MovieFan
Joining in

Hi,

I am new to Virgin and had the equipment installed on Friday 4 March and the LED on the Hub 3 has been bright orange from the start - the engineer artfully avoided answering my question about it.

Reading through similar posts, some people say it's caused by an aged LED in an old hub,or it could be faulty; either way it's not good for a new install.

Should I raise this as a fault?

Thanks

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

@MovieFan you have a aging LED in the hub, in itself that isn't going to be a problem. As the LEDs get older the light they give off tends to move towards the red end of the spectrum, so what should be white in normal mode starts to look more yellow/orange and magenta in modem mode moves more to be pure red.

Like I said this won't be an issue, as long as the colour stays what it is now and doesn't become red in router mode, then it should all be fine.

John

See where this Helpful Answer was posted

5 REPLIES 5

jbrennand
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
Put the Hub into modem mode and see if the Hub light changes to a "magenta" colour... reddy/purple. And then goes back to "off white" when you go back to router mode.

Note that there is no guarantee that you got a "new" Hub.. they can just issue old and refurbished Hubs (there have been shortages recently) - I dont believe they refurbish the LED's though 🙂

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired, 2 on WiFi) Hub5 in modem mode with Apple Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's & TP-Link Archer C64 WAP. On Volt 350Mbps, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.

Carley_S
Forum Team
Forum Team

Hi @MovieFan

Welcome to the community!