Menu
Reply
  • 26
  • 0
  • 0
Nkawecki
On our wavelength
360 Views
Message 1 of 27
Flag for a moderator

Not acheiving 500mbs

So I have been with virgin for 3 weeks with a 500mb package and at best I only get 200mb with a wired CAT 6 connection.

I have spent numerous hours on the phone trying to resolve and now Virgin think there is a compatibility issue with my network adaptor on my Lenovo PC fitted  with a Realtek LAN adaptor 802.11ac PCI-E NIC.

Strangely the download speed fluctuates between 80mb and 200mb but upload stays constant at 37mb.

When doing a speed test on my Samsung note 9 over WiFi i get 280mb!

Any ideas? Issues with the HUB 3?

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 1.26K
  • 190
  • 284
DJ_Shadow1966
Knows their stuff
353 Views
Message 2 of 27
Flag for a moderator

Re: Not acheiving 500mbs

Hello

Can you please post your network stats from the hub
Open a Web browser (e.g. Internet Explorer) and enter the address http://192.168.0.1
Note: If you have enabled Modem Mode on your Hub 3.0 you will need to use 192.168.100.1 instead.
Posting the stats by copy and paste will remove all personal information so no breaches.
Do not login but click on where it says "Check Router Stats" and then copy and post from the following 4 tabs, Downstream, Upstream, Configuration and Network logs (if they are pasted then all personal information is * out) and we can check your power level, also while you about that can you please go around and check that all connectors to VM equipment are hand tight. Also while doing this please check for any damage to cable, or un-terminated connection without either coax or a terminator.
Also please run "Check service status" at the top right of this forum and call 0800 561 0061 to check for local issues.
Also one think you can do is too signup at https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality and setup a broadband quality monitor which will keep an eye on you connection by sending a small amount of data to the hub asking if it still on.

Regards Mike

I dont work for VirginMedia all opinions are my own.
39 years in IT.
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 1.15K
  • 66
  • 210
Forum Team
Forum Team
272 Views
Message 3 of 27
Flag for a moderator

Re: Not acheiving 500mbs

Hi Nkawecki,

 

Thank you for reaching out with your broadband concerns. I'm really sorry that you're not getting expected speeds.

 

I've had a look at the backend of your services and the local network, but have been unable to identify anything which would explain this issue. Everything's reporting within spec and all our tools suggest your connection should be fine.

 

It would help if you're able to run a few more diagnostic tests from your end so we can rule out certain aspects. First of all, I'd just like to check what you're using to test your speeds? We'd usually recommend speedtest.net as they're accurate and impartial.

 

Could you start by putting your hub into modem mode to see if you get different speed test results? This would establish whether the problem lies on the router side of things.

 

Could you then put your PC into safe mode and run further tests? This helps to rule out any conflicting settings on your device.

 

Thanks,

Rachael

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 26
  • 0
  • 0
Nkawecki
On our wavelength
227 Views
Message 4 of 27
Flag for a moderator

Re: Not acheiving 500mbs

Hi

Yes always use Speedtest.net for all my tests.

I have ran the hub in Modem Mode and no improvements. 113Mbps Down, 37Mbps Up

I have also put my PC into safe mode and only a slight improvement? 172Mbps Down, 37Mbps Up

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 26
  • 0
  • 0
Nkawecki
On our wavelength
225 Views
Message 5 of 27
Flag for a moderator

Re: Not acheiving 500mbs

Hi There

Thanks for the response and had put my HUB into Modem Mode as advised by the moderator but now I can't log into my HUB at all. have tried http://192.168.0.1 and no joy!!!!?????? Ill try a reboot.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 9.46K
  • 980
  • 1.49K
jbrennand
Alessandro Volta
219 Views
Message 6 of 27
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Not acheiving 500mbs

In modem mode its... http://192.168.100.1/

--------------------
John
--------------------

My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
  • 26
  • 0
  • 0
Nkawecki
On our wavelength
210 Views
Message 7 of 27
Flag for a moderator

Re: Not acheiving 500mbs

Thanks back in

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 4.06K
  • 481
  • 1.31K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
207 Views
Message 8 of 27
Flag for a moderator

Re: Not acheiving 500mbs

Have tried a different Ethernet cable to rule that out? I'd also check the Ethernet adapter drivers you have installed and see if they are up to date and check the driver release notes for any known issues.

______________________
Scott

My setup: V6 TV box, M350 Fibre broadband with Hub 3 in modem mode connected to a Netgear R7000 router. Telewest/VM user since 2001.

As a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share my knowledge. I don't work for Virgin Media.

Click to learn more about VIP

Use Kudos to say thanks

 

Mark as Helpful Answer if I've helped

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 26
  • 0
  • 0
Nkawecki
On our wavelength
205 Views
Message 9 of 27
Flag for a moderator

Re: Not acheiving 500mbs

I bought a CAT 7 cable this weekend and also bought a i Gigabit USB Adapater to rule out cable and network card. Have installe and no improvements.

Linksys USB 3.0 Gigabit Ethernet Adapter

https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B00QSHHWI2/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

 

UGREEN Ethernet Cable, Cat 7 Gigabit Lan Network RJ45 High-Speed Patch Cord Flat Design 10Gbps for 600Mhz/s https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B00QV1F19C/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o01_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 26
  • 0
  • 0
Nkawecki
On our wavelength
202 Views
Message 10 of 27
Flag for a moderator

Re: Not acheiving 500mbs

Info as requested

 

Cable Modem Status

Item

Status

Comments

Acquired Downstream Channel (Hz)

347000000

Locked

Ranged Upstream Channel (Hz)

39399983

Locked

Provisioning State

Online

 

 

Downstream bonded channels

Channel

Frequency (Hz)

Power (dBmV)

SNR (dB)

Modulation

Channel ID

1

347000000

7

40

256 qam

25

2

219000000

7.4

40

256 qam

11

3

227000000

7.4

38

256 qam

12

4

235000000

7.3

38

256 qam

13

5

243000000

7

38

256 qam

14

6

251000000

6.9

40

256 qam

15

7

259000000

6.6

38

256 qam

16

8

267000000

6.5

38

256 qam

17

9

275000000

6.3

38

256 qam

18

10

283000000

6

38

256 qam

19

11

291000000

5.6

38

256 qam

20

12

299000000

7.3

38

256 qam

21

13

307000000

7.5

38

256 qam

22

14

315000000

7.5

38

256 qam

23

15

323000000

7.5

38

256 qam

24

16

355000000

7

38

256 qam

26

17

363000000

6.9

38

256 qam

27

18

371000000

7

38

256 qam

28

19

379000000

7

38

256 qam

29

20

387000000

6.8

38

256 qam

30

21

395000000

6.9

38

256 qam

31

22

403000000

6.6

38

256 qam

32

23

411000000

6.4

38

256 qam

33

24

419000000

5.9

38

256 qam

34

 

Downstream bonded channels

Channel

Locked Status

RxMER (dB)

Pre RS Errors

Post RS Errors

1

Locked

40.3

0

0

2

Locked

40.3

4

0

3

Locked

38.9

6

0

4

Locked

38.9

5

0

5

Locked

38.9

4

0

6

Locked

40.3

6

0

7

Locked

38.9

6

0

8

Locked

38.9

6

0

9

Locked

38.9

4

0

10

Locked

38.9

4

0

11

Locked

38.9

13

0

12

Locked

38.6

5

0

13

Locked

38.9

4

0

14

Locked

38.9

4

0

15

Locked

38.9

1

0

16

Locked

38.9

5

0

17

Locked

38.9

5

0

18

Locked

38.9

6

0

19

Locked

38.9

4

0

20

Locked

38.9

4

0

21

Locked

38.9

5

0

22

Locked

38.9

17

0

23

Locked

38.9

6

0

24

Locked

38.6

6

0

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel

Frequency (Hz)

Power (dBmV)

Symbol Rate (ksps)

Modulation

Channel ID

1

39399983

4.05

5120

64 qam

2

2

25799998

4.05

5120

64 qam

4

3

32599998

4.05

5120

64 qam

3

4

46200017

4.05

5120

64 qam

1

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel

Channel Type

T1 Timeouts

T2 Timeouts

T3 Timeouts

T4 Timeouts

1

ATDMA

0

0

0

0

2

ATDMA

0

0

0

0

3

ATDMA

0

0

0

0

4

ATDMA

0

0

0

0

 

General Configuration

Network access

Allowed

Maximum Number of CPEs

1

Baseline Privacy

Enabled

DOCSIS Mode

Docsis30

Config file

,.iyewrkldJKDHSUBsgvca69834ncxv987

 

Primary Downstream Service Flow

SFID

32672

Max Traffic Rate

575000000

Max Traffic Burst

42600

Min Traffic Rate

0

 

Primary Upstream Service Flow

SFID

816

Max Traffic Rate

38520000

Max Traffic Burst

42600

Min Traffic Rate

0

Max Concatenated Burst

16320

Scheduling Type

BestEffort

 

Network Log

Time

Priority

Description

08/11/2019 15:11:33

notice

SW Download INIT - Via Config file

08/11/2019 15:14:15

Error

Disruption during SW download - Power Failure

08/11/2019 15:14:26

notice

SW Download INIT - Via Config file

08/11/2019 15:16:52

notice

SW download Successful - Via Config file

08/11/2019 19:08:50

critical

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

27/11/2019 10:48:17

Warning!

RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

27/11/2019 10:48:19

critical

SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

27/11/2019 10:48:20

Warning!

RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

27/11/2019 10:48:22

critical

SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

27/11/2019 10:48:23

Warning!

RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

27/11/2019 10:48:23

critical

SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

27/11/2019 10:48:25

Warning!

Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

28/11/2019 05:51:24

critical

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

 

0 Kudos
Reply