cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Nintendo switch wifi

Gaz756
Tuning in

Hi,  

Had trouble connecting my sons Nintendo switch to wifi the last few days due to an dns error. To cut a long story short I have noticed when going into router settings and turning off the firewall it connects no problem.

Is it safe to just leave the firewall off or have virgin changed something on the router which I can change back???

Cheers

Gary Dunbar. 

12 REPLIES 12

george_g
Forum Team (Retired)
Forum Team (Retired)

hey Gary Dunbar,

I work for virgin as an engineer and i personally own a switch. Maybe I can help. Could you tell me the exact error message that comes up when you try to connect your switch to the wifi?

kind regards,

George G

Here to help! I'm a technician helping out whilst working from home. Find out more

Hi George, 

The error code is 2110-3127 dns error.

Gary. 

Hi, 

Found this on the forum and it seems to have sorted it for the minute. 

Re: Nintendo Switch cannot resolve DNS

I figured it out.

You need to sign into the Hub 3.0 control panel on your browser and go to Advanced Settings > Wireless > MAC Filtering and the MAC address for the switch will likely be listed there. Remove it from the list and reconnect on the switch again. Should be g2g. 

Hopefully stays fixed. 

Cheers. 

Hi there 

I'm having the same problem with the switch not connecting and look forward to hearing what a virgin engineer says.  It seems that a few people have had this problem with no official sounding solution.

Error message on the switch was also 2110-3127

Regards, Sean

I just done what I quoted on my post and it's working fine now. 

Gary. 

Thanks, got there in the end!!
The sequence on my hub was actually: Advanced settings> Security>Mac Filtering

Cheers, Sean

KEF
Tuning in