forumarchive,nothingtosee,
Menu
Gilchrist99
Joining in
Message 1 of 2
Flag for a moderator

New router

Can anyone recommend a new router please. I don’t have a great deal of technical knowledge, but I live in a large 4 bed house near a wood, and my Virgin Hub 3 wont extend beyond my living room. Ive tried WiFi extenders and they aren’t cutting it. I think I need a new router. Any advice (and please keep it really simple as I’m a bit of novice with routers.)

0 Kudos
tehwolf
Superfast
Message 2 of 2
Flag for a moderator

Re: New router

@Gilchrist99 wrote:

Can anyone recommend a new router please. I don’t have a great deal of technical knowledge, but I live in a large 4 bed house near a wood, and my Virgin Hub 3 wont extend beyond my living room. Ive tried WiFi extenders and they aren’t cutting it. I think I need a new router. Any advice (and please keep it really simple as I’m a bit of novice with routers.)

you might want to consider a mesh system - it's more likely to provide reliable wifi across a large property than a single router. 

Two brands I would consider if i were in the market are probably ASUS and TP-Link.. Netgear could be considered alongside them, though I've never been a fan of their products..

The biggest consideration with a mesh is whether you buy a dual-band or tri-band system.. tri-band is more expensive as it includes an additional radio that is dedicated to backhauling traffic between mesh points.. dual-band ones will share the radio that all of your devices use.. whether or not that impacts performance is really down to how many devices you plan to connect to the mesh.

Wifi-6 is only really relevant if you have wifi-6 capable clients. If most of your devices are only AC, then it won't make any difference whatsoever, but you may want to consider it for futureproofing.. whatever you buy should last a few years at least..