cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Low Wi-Fi coverage except in the room where the hub is

Bobwix
Tuning in

I’m a new customer and am finding the Wi-Fi is great in the living room where the hub is but it’s terrible in the rest of the house. The kids are all shouting and complaining so I bought a plug in Wi-Fi extender but that has only helped in the one room I put it in which is the kitchen. I am not very technical but any help gratefully appreciated please? I can’t seem to order any boosters through Virgin Media. I am beginning to wish I hadn’t changed from BT

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

jbrennand
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
See this....

If it is a wifi only issue, then on a Hub3/4/5, you can try separating the SSID's of the 2.4 and 5 GHz wifi bands by renaming them in the settings and at the same time switch off "channel optimisation/Smart wifi” “ apply and save the settings. All wifi devices will need reconnecting to the best SSID at each location. Also use a wifi scanning App to find the best wifi channels to use (just select and use channels 1,6,11 on 2.4GHz) - this often helps Hub users get better wifi performance - but its still no substitute for getting better kit 🙂

To address the wifi issues, VM now supply “wifi Pods” (no longer doing cheap and cheerless “boosters” or extenders - these are "poor"). However, their new Pods are only free to customers on the 1GB, Volt (or old Ultimate Oomph) packages - is that you? If so they are worth trying - they should work for you.

You do have to call in to order them (cant do it online) - or just wait here for a VM person to respond in a day or two and they will sort the first one for you .