Menu
Reply
ellisb51
  • 37
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
533 Views
Message 1 of 35
Flag for a moderator

Intermittent connection

Hi,

My broadband runs generally fine (set up a TB quality monitor and there are no real issues). It seems to be an issue with dropping Wi-Fi connections to various devices. The wired connections are fine. Often on iPhone and iPad the wheel is left spinning and then when it does connect there is often no internet. This happens very regularly (every 20 mins) at all times of the day and has been going on for around a month. 
I have done all the recommended actions and am now out of ideas. Any help much appreciated.

see router stats below

0 Kudos
Reply
ellisb51
  • 37
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
529 Views
Message 2 of 35
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent connection

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

12990000000.240256 qam21
2139000000-0.238256 qam1
3147000000-0.240256 qam2
4155000000-0.240256 qam3
5163000000-0.240256 qam4
6171000000040256 qam5
7179000000-0.240256 qam6
8187000000040256 qam7
9195000000040256 qam8
10203000000040256 qam9
11211000000-0.240256 qam10
12219000000-0.240256 qam11
13227000000-0.240256 qam12
14235000000-0.440256 qam13
15243000000-0.540256 qam14
16251000000-0.540256 qam15
17259000000-0.540256 qam16
18267000000-0.440256 qam17
19275000000-0.440256 qam18
20283000000040256 qam19
21291000000040256 qam20
223070000000.240256 qam22
233150000000.240256 qam23
243230000000.240256 qam24



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked40.3140
2Locked38.9220
3Locked40.3190
4Locked40.3320
5Locked40.3540
6Locked40.3360
7Locked40.3400
8Locked40.3380
9Locked40.3210
10Locked40.9260
11Locked40.3130
12Locked40.9160
13Locked40.390
14Locked40.3130
15Locked40.3140
16Locked40.9150
17Locked40.3140
18Locked40.3140
19Locked40.3140
20Locked40.9140
21Locked40.3150
22Locked40.3120
23Locked40.3170
24Locked40.3260

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

13939999146.5512064 qam12
24619996146.5512064 qam11
35370000046.5512064 qam10
46029998346.5512064 qam9



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000

 

0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 27.23K
  • 2.76K
  • 5.11K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
518 Views
Message 3 of 35
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent connection

Stats all look spot on and you say wired connections are fine. thats strong evidence that your issue is purely wifi related.

So on a Hub3, you can try separating the SSID's of the 2.4 and 5 GHz wifi bands by renaming them in the settings and at the same time switch off "channel optimisation" apply and save the settings. All wifi devices will need reconnecting to the best SSID at each location. Also use a wifi scanning App to find the best wifi channels to use (just select and use channels 1,6,11 on 2.4GHz) - this often helps Hub3 users get better wifi performance - but its still no substitute for getting better wireless kit 🙂

To address the wifi issues, VM now supply “wifi Pods” (not “boosters”). Pods are free to customers on 1GB or Ultimate Oomph packages - is that you?

If not... you will be charged £5/month. Its a simple solution and should work for you. However, you would soon pay off that cost by buying a "better" wireless solution that will be yours to own and use forever but it isn’t the simple plug and play option of the Pod(s).

Either a Mesh System, a Wireless router, a Wireless access point or combination of these.

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
ellisb51
  • 37
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
499 Views
Message 4 of 35
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent connection

After a bit more testing today, it turns out my wired connections are also experiencing the same dropouts. Catch up on TiVo is also not available - not sure whether related. 
there are no reported issues on the phone number or on app.
I have tried resetting router and leaving off for a while but still the same, constant disconnections and then reconnects with no internet. Extremely annoying.

 

Updated quality graph shows a large period of 100% dropped packets from approx 4pm:

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/db3b469e5494ce1bbab2adb3fc9408ab08d1dbec
0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 27.23K
  • 2.76K
  • 5.11K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
490 Views
Message 5 of 35
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent connection

Lets see the Network Logs for the period the BQM is showing.

Also it looks to have "stopped responding to pings" since 4pm - or have you switched it off since then?

Do you mean TiVo - or do you mean a V6 (powered by Tivo software?) they connect differently to catch up. If its a V6 look in Home>Settings>Network>connection - and report what it says and try and remake the connection

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
ellisb51
  • 37
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
482 Views
Message 6 of 35
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent connection

There’s nothing in the network log since yesterday as above. 
The internet is now working - for now - (despite BQM still saying 100% packet loss since 4pm). 

yes, sorry, V6 box - in network says last connection to VM network was successful. However no menu options were present when internet was offline. Now is working ok.

 

Thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 27.23K
  • 2.76K
  • 5.11K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
479 Views
Message 7 of 35
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent connection

Two possibilities for the BQM.

There is a setting somewhere - i think its... Advanced Settings > Advanced > Ping > Respond to ICMP echo requests sent to WAN IP - make sure they are "allowed".

Or perhaps the i.p. address changed. Check you current i.p. address is the same as that you have in the BQM settings

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
Corey_C
  • 5.05K
  • 254
  • 424
Moderator
Moderator
404 Views
Message 8 of 35
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent connection

Thanks for your post and updates, ellisb51, glad to hear things have improved since your post. Also thanks for you help on this @jbrennand

 

Cheers,

Corey C

0 Kudos
Reply
ellisb51
  • 37
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
366 Views
Message 9 of 35
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent connection

Hi, I had to call 150 later that night and have given it a week - but the same problem is happening every day. Constant disconnections. The Wi-Fi signal remains connected and is strong (0db noise and RSSI of around -50db) just the internet cutting out every 30 minutes for around 10 mins each time. I can’t get any work done

0 Kudos
Reply
ellisb51
  • 37
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
361 Views
Message 10 of 35
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent connection

I am now getting lots of pre and post RS errors and a load of T3 timeouts on the upstream:

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

13310000000.240256 qam25
2203000000-0.540256 qam9
3211000000-0.540256 qam10
4219000000-0.440256 qam11
5227000000-0.240256 qam12
6235000000-0.240256 qam13
7243000000-0.540256 qam14
8251000000-0.740256 qam15
9259000000-0.940256 qam16
10267000000-0.740256 qam17
11275000000-0.740256 qam18
12283000000-0.540256 qam19
13291000000-0.240256 qam20
142990000000.240256 qam21
153070000000.240256 qam22
163150000000.440256 qam23
173230000000.440256 qam24
183390000000.240256 qam26
193470000000.240256 qam27
203550000000.240256 qam28
213630000000.240256 qam29
223710000000.540256 qam30
233790000000.540256 qam31
243870000000.740256 qam32



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked40.9306676
2Locked40.3236703
3Locked40.3256878
4Locked40.3236945
5Locked40.9212982
6Locked40.3261942
7Locked40.3234981
8Locked40.32901106
9Locked40.92851113
10Locked40.32631233
11Locked40.32911113
12Locked40.32711182
13Locked40.32401111
14Locked40.32371099
15Locked40.32841189
16Locked40.32931135
17Locked40.32951117
18Locked40.92851109
19Locked40.32671069
20Locked40.3245845
21Locked40.32941152
22Locked40.92251112
23Locked40.32561136
24Locked40.32231169
0 Kudos
Reply