Menu
Reply
Highlighted
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
185 Views
Message 1 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Intermittent connection

Hi everyone,

Whilst I can't say my internet connection has ever been smooth, recently it's been absolutely ridiculous - I'm experiencing an intermittent connection with (very) regular dropouts, moments when devices although connected to the WiFi aren't connected to the internet, speed fluctuations (~5Mbps on a 200Mbps package) and more recently the router's been acting up randomly flashing the WiFi and Internet lights even when the Internet is working.

This is really impacting my ability to work remotely or participate in videocalls and I have to rely on my neighbour's connection, who's subscribed to a competitor, connection which has been flawless even on a much smaller broadband package than the one I'm getting from Virgin Media.

I've checked the router and I'm regularly receiving Warning and Critical logs with out of range downstream power levels:

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

1323000000-5.240256 qam24
2187000000-8.538256 qam7
3195000000-838256 qam8
4203000000-7.740256 qam9
5211000000-7.732256 qam10
6235000000-1038256 qam13
7243000000-8.238256 qam14
8251000000-7.538256 qam15
9259000000-1037256 qam16
10267000000-10.937256 qam17
11275000000-9.937256 qam18
12283000000-6.238256 qam19
13291000000-5.738256 qam20
14299000000-7.738256 qam21
15307000000-8.938256 qam22
16315000000-738256 qam23
17443000000-7.538256 qam25
18451000000-7.538256 qam26
19459000000-838256 qam27
20467000000-7.738256 qam28
21475000000-938256 qam29
22483000000-9.535256 qam30

 

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked40.38897032414
2Locked38.694285273229
3Locked38.910321368050
4Locked40.97927912273
5Locked32.351106797888363
6Locked38.6108611114906
7Locked38.97945745525
8Locked38.96325234529
9Locked37.611729990920
10Locked37.6106851151607
11Locked37.6112995127927
12Locked38.910250857001
13Locked38.98521517231
14Locked38.611933442745
15Locked38.910615157784
16Locked38.99117946208
17Locked38.9800345224
18Locked38.69597710202
19Locked38.99263516711
20Locked38.96350218118
21Locked38.64655116881
22Locked35.75315624109

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

1394000005.1512064 qam4
2462000005.1512064 qam3
3537000005.1512064 qam2
4603000005.1512064 qam1

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000

 

Hopefully this can be sorted out!

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
156 Views
Message 2 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent connection

I've managed to exceed the maximum character limit to I'll post the logs in a different message:

Network Log

Time Priority Description

10/09/2020 10:40:54Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
10/09/2020 10:40:52Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
10/09/2020 10:26:48Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
10/09/2020 10:26:47criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
10/09/2020 10:25:7Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
10/09/2020 10:25:5noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
10/09/2020 10:16:12Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
10/09/2020 10:16:11Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
10/09/2020 09:57:0Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
10/09/2020 09:57:0Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
10/09/2020 09:48:25Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
10/09/2020 09:48:25Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
10/09/2020 09:47:23Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
10/09/2020 09:46:10criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
10/09/2020 09:45:57criticalDHCP FAILED - Discover sent, no offer received;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
10/09/2020 09:44:36criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
10/09/2020 09:43:53Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
10/09/2020 09:43:51criticalUnicast Maintenance Ranging attempted - No response - Retries exhausted;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
10/09/2020 09:43:51criticalRanging Request Retries exhausted;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
10/09/2020 09:43:27Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

 

Screenshot 2020-09-02 at 12.59.08.png

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 6.48K
  • 480
  • 851
Hero
171 Views
Message 3 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent connection

Your Power Levels are all wrong and will need an engineer visit to fix them.

You can contact VM to report the problem using ...

Text service on 07533051809

150 from Virgin landline.

0345 454 1111 from any other UK  phone.

The best time to call is weekdays 08:00 to get a UK agent, anything after 10:00 you must realise that you are quite likely to get through to an offshore agent that doesn't speak English as a first language.

Or you can wait on here for one of the VM Staff to pick up the thread but this may take a few days.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

You have far too many Pre and Post RS Errors, these should go to zero on the next reboot.

***********************************************************************************************************************************

Mike Robinson
Aircraft Engineer & Computer Based Training and Learning Designer for many of the world's Military Arms.


My Broadband Ping - 26_Aug_2020
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 6.48K
  • 480
  • 851
Hero
165 Views
Message 4 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent connection

In the meantime, can you set up a Broadband Quality Monitor (BQM) at thinkbroadband.com - this will give you an insight into what is happening with the signal at the other side of the Hub, it will take a few hours to get any kind of trend showing although you should post the link straight away.

Post a link to your BQM on here.

Instructions for posting BQM Link

Under your BQM graph are two links in red.

Click the lower link (Share Live Graph) then click generate.

Copy the text in the Direct Link box, beware, there may be more text than you can see.

On here click the Link icon (2 links chain to the left of the camera icon)

In the URL box paste the link you copied and in the ‘text to display’ box write My BQM then click OK - you can post the link straight away.

 

***********************************************************************************************************************************

Mike Robinson
Aircraft Engineer & Computer Based Training and Learning Designer for many of the world's Military Arms.


My Broadband Ping - 26_Aug_2020
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
158 Views
Message 5 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent connection

Thank you for your reply. I have already set up a BQM monitor, please see below:

My Broadband Ping - Virgin Media

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
87 Views
Message 6 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent connection

@MikeRobbo My apologies, I've pasted the wrong BQM graph - here's the updated one, it's a bloodbath:

My Broadband Ping - 2

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 6.48K
  • 480
  • 851
Hero
72 Views
Message 7 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent connection

Have you called your problem in as advised in Post 3 ?

***********************************************************************************************************************************

Mike Robinson
Aircraft Engineer & Computer Based Training and Learning Designer for many of the world's Military Arms.


My Broadband Ping - 26_Aug_2020
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
69 Views
Message 8 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent connection

I've tried to get hold of someone from the customer service to book an engineer appointment via the online chat and over the phone, but no luck for me, was stuck waiting for 45mins+.

I'm hoping someone from Virgin Media will see this and get in touch

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 3.57K
  • 215
  • 415
Forum Team
Forum Team
62 Views
Message 9 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent connection

Hi there @claudiu_tal

 

Welcome to our Community and thanks so much for your posts; I was sorry to understand that you've been having some issues with your connection. We do appreciate you going through the checks with our Community and for posting your BQM results on the thread; it helps enormously. 

 

I have located your account from you forum information so as to go through a few checks here for you - Currently it is advising the the Hub is switched off. Can you please ensure that it is on so I can go through some checks to see if this will need a tech or a replacement.

 

Cheers 

 

 

 

 

 

Katie - Forum Team


New around here? To find out more about the Community check out our Getting Started guide


0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
60 Views
Message 10 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent connection

Thank you so much for reaching out @Katie_WT.

This seems to be another one of the problems I'm facing currently, the Hub was actually switched on when you checked (the white light on, nothing else) but none of my devices could find the WiFi network - this seems to happen a lot recently.

I have tried rebooting it, hopefully it'll let you check it now!

0 Kudos
Reply