Menu
Reply
Highlighted
  • 11
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
203 Views
Message 1 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Intermittent connection

Hi All,

I've been noticing an intermittent connection for a while now. I get the message "No internet, connected" on the Network and Internet Settings of my laptop. This is particularly bothersome during video calling, which is at times impossible as a result, so I end up hotspotting off my phone which of course sucks up all my data.

I have followed all the steps in the Help section (essentially check all connections and reset the router) but it doesn't help.

Any suggestions welcomed.

Cheers

Jamie

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 20.96K
  • 1.13K
  • 2.7K
Alessandro Volta
199 Views
Message 2 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent connection

I’m assuming this is on a WiFi connection?


*****
If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
Office 365, Dynamics CRM and Cloud Computing Jedi
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 11
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
182 Views
Message 3 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent connection

Yes, WiFi
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 3.52K
  • 567
  • 1.38K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
182 Views
Message 4 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent connection

If hotspotting off the phone works, then it suggests that the issue is not the laptop, nor (in  principle) wifi in general.

This could be down to the default settings of the hub (I'm assuming a Hub 3?), which often need tinkering with, or it could be the broadband connection from the hub to VM's network.  Do you have any devices with wired connections to the hub that might help with diagnosis?

If not, then I'd suggest we do a quick check on your hub's status data - that can often show if there's problems with the connection.  If that looks "clean", we can focus on the wireless settings of the hub.  Connect to the hub using this link.  Don't log in, but click on "Check router status", and then post (as formatted text) the contents of the tabs titled Downstream, Upstream, Network log.  

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 20.96K
  • 1.13K
  • 2.7K
Alessandro Volta
169 Views
Message 5 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent connection

A 60 second pinnhole reset sometimes cures the issue as well

*****
If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
Office 365, Dynamics CRM and Cloud Computing Jedi
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 11
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
167 Views
Message 6 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent connection

Thanks for this. We don't have any wired devices unfortunately.

It might also be helpful to note that if I disconnect from the network and then reconnect, the connection is usually restored.

Downstream:
Refresh data
Downstream bonded channels
Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID
1 299000000 5 37 256 qam 21
2 171000000 7.1 38 256 qam 5
3 179000000 6.9 37 256 qam 6
4 187000000 6.5 37 256 qam 7
5 195000000 6 37 256 qam 8
6 203000000 5.9 37 256 qam 9
7 211000000 5.8 37 256 qam 10
8 219000000 5.4 37 256 qam 11
9 227000000 5.4 38 256 qam 12
10 235000000 5.1 37 256 qam 13
11 243000000 4.5 37 256 qam 14
12 251000000 4.3 37 256 qam 15
13 259000000 4.9 37 256 qam 16
14 267000000 5.5 38 256 qam 17
15 275000000 6 38 256 qam 18
16 283000000 4.9 37 256 qam 19
17 291000000 3.7 37 256 qam 20
18 307000000 5 37 256 qam 22
19 315000000 4.3 37 256 qam 23
20 323000000 4.5 37 256 qam 24
21 450750000 4.3 37 256 qam 25
22 458750000 4 37 256 qam 26
23 466750000 4 37 256 qam 27
24 474750000 3.9 37 256 qam 28


Downstream bonded channels
Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors
1 Locked 37.6 17 0
2 Locked 38.6 13 0
3 Locked 37.6 9 0
4 Locked 37.6 12 0
5 Locked 37.6 12 0
6 Locked 37.3 9 0
7 Locked 37.6 9 0
8 Locked 37.6 7 0
9 Locked 38.6 7 0
10 Locked 37.6 16 0
11 Locked 37.6 5 0
12 Locked 37.6 3 0
13 Locked 37.6 19 0
14 Locked 38.6 11 0
15 Locked 38.9 6 0
16 Locked 37.6 20 0
17 Locked 37.3 13 0
18 Locked 37.6 31 0
19 Locked 37.6 13 0
20 Locked 37.6 7 0
21 Locked 37.3 7 0
22 Locked 37.6 8 0
23 Locked 37.6 9 0
24 Locked 37.6 9 0

Upstream:

Refresh data
Upstream bonded channels
Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID
1 53700000 4.15 5120 64 qam 41
2 25800000 4.025 5120 64 qam 40


Upstream bonded channels
Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts
1 ATDMA 0 0 0 0
2 ATDMA 0 0 0 0

Network Log:

Refresh data
Network Log
Time Priority Description
10/07/2020 09:21:19 notice LAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
10/07/2020 06:31:27 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
09/07/2020 08:13:54 Warning! RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
07/07/2020 08:25:1 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05/07/2020 17:35:2 Error DHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05/07/2020 12:02:56 Error DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05/07/2020 11:50:15 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
04/07/2020 19:26:50 Error DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/07/2020 10:16:56 Error DHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
30/06/2020 05:34:46 Error DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/06/2020 00:29:11 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
28/06/2020 19:44:46 Warning! RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
26/06/2020 08:29:57 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
25/06/2020 06:52:28 Error DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
24/06/2020 22:55:26 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
21/06/2020 17:25:11 Error DHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
21/06/2020 16:33:49 Error DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
21/06/2020 15:50:52 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
21/06/2020 15:42:30 Error DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
21/06/2020 15:10:24 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 3.52K
  • 567
  • 1.38K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
150 Views
Message 7 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent connection

The network log's a bit ropey, but not wholly conclusive, but you've only got two upstream channels - there should be four.  That usually suggests upstream noise issues, and they in turn cause the sort of disconnections you're describing.  I'll flag for the forum staff, they may ask you to confirm that you've tried a pinhole reset and possibly other checks.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

Highlighted
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
139 Views
Message 8 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent connection

B63 area problems since 14th June constantly trying to get answers from customer services, I had upgraded without knowing the fault was on going so paying extra for a service which is now better than the M50 package all of the time yet I'm on M350 package 

All I keep being told is dates due to be fixed get to the date then they add another week on no compensation or anything no help absolutely useless customer services

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 11
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
117 Views
Message 9 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent connection

60 second? I've only done a 10 second - is there a difference?
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 3.52K
  • 567
  • 1.38K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
113 Views
Message 10 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent connection

60 second? I've only done a 10 second - is there a difference?

No there shouldn't be.  So long as it was long enough to clear the programmable memory that holds the operating copy of the Hub's firmware.  The 60 second is belt and braces paranoia to make sure it has been cleared rather than where some customers might be inclined to make it virtually instantaneous "pip", but if you've given it a ten second buzz that should do the job.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks