cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

IOS 14.3 not connecting to WIFI

NMolyneux
Joining in

I have an iPhone ProMax running IOS14.3.  I am new to Virgin and have recently set up WIFI.  My phone connects to the WIFI but doesn't appear to actually be using it as it is incredibly slow.  When I disconnect from WIFI it speeds up.  I never had this issue with my old provider BT!

Has anyone else had this issue and managed to find a fix?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

jbrennand
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
Mike's right - the iPhone will perform far better on the 5GHz channel - I get 220Mbps on our 200 service on my iP7 on 14.3

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired, 2 on WiFi) Hub5 in modem mode with Apple Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's & TP-Link Archer C64 WAP. On Volt 350Mbps, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.

See where this Helpful Answer was posted

4 REPLIES 4

gary_dexter
Alessandro Volta

Are you connecting to your Wifi network and not the public hotspot one?

If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
Office 365, Dynamics CRM and Cloud Computing Jedi

Alas definitely the private one!

You may be as well refining your Wi-Fi management, it will certainly help keeping track of your Wi-Fi frequencies.

Best done with a cable connected device.

Instructions for Hub 3, Hub 4 is similar.

Advanced Settings > Wireless Signal > click ‘Disable Channel Optimization’ > Click ‘Apply Changes’.

Advanced Settings > Wireless > Security > Add 2 to the 2.4GHz Channel name [SSID] > Add 5 to the 5 GHz Channel name [SSID] > Click ‘Apply Changes’

You can leave the passwords the same as they are.