cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Hub5 WiFi reconnect loop

Mosstalgic
Tuning in

Hi all,

Its my first time posting, I've just signed up to try and get some feedback from fellow customers.

I recently upgraded my hub from the Hub3 to the Hub5 and already have issues. One of the main issues I'm having is my mobile phone (Google Pixel 5) is constantly disconnecting and reconnecting to WiFi... I can sit here watching my phone loop from WiFi to 5g every 10 seconds... I've never seen anything like it. This wasn't happening when I first hooked the 5 up, but it's started doing this over the past few days.

I've tried restarting the router, my phone, reconfiguring the WiFi connection and so on, but now it just sits in this state. - If I am watching content online or my phone is requires a constant connection to the site I'm using then the connection will stabilise.. as soon as it thinks I'm idle or content isn't loading, the WiFi loop kicks back in.

I do have other devices on the network... Some are connected over LAN and have no issues. I have a few other things, like my Samsung tablet that has no issues using WiFi so at first I thought this could be a Google Pixel issue.. however the same thing happens with my partners phone, to the point she just doesn't use WiFi anymore and paid for a data increase (which isn't an acceptable work around).

My assumption at this time is that this is possibly something to do with some devices being confused on whether they should be connecting to 2.4gh WiFi or 5ghz WiFi... I have a feeling that if I was to create two separate channels and turn of the "INTELLIGENT switching option" it MIGHT stop happening... But, I would rather have the one WiFi network to be honest.

Have any of you been having similar issues? I've not even attempted to connect to my work VPN yet and Virgin are mithering me for the hub 3 to be returned... So far the 5 has been flakey to say the least! 

Thanks,

10 REPLIES 10

gary_dexter