cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Hub4 White light of death since power cut.

Obibrownkanobi
Tuning in
  • Good morning,

I’m new to Virgin and 4 months in, my hub 4 router seems to be unresponsive since a power cut. It seems since this event, the light on the router is a solid white from the moment it powers on. This is not normal for the boot process as usually it starts with a flashing red and goes to white when the internet is back online. (For some reason, every few weeks my devices will lose Wi-Fi and my modem requires a reboot to fix).

Reading around this is a common problem. The worst part is it’s Friday and VM are unable to send an engineer until Tuesday. 

I’ve also tried a reset and the router simply doesn’t respond. Does anyone at all have any suggestions? I really need the internet back as I work from home. 

of all the routers I’ve had over the years (I’m a network engineer), this has to be the worst and most unreliable one I have ever had. Surely it can’t be bricked after 4 months? 

I have no confidence in this hardware and keen to understand if VM have come out openly and identified this as a common fault with their hardware? I concerned that replacing the hardware with exact same, will mean this event will happen again.

I, and I’m sure most people would agree, 4 days without internet is not a viable service? 

Thank you. 

14 REPLIES 14

jbrennand
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
2 working days for a Tech visit is pretty good for a Residential ( non-Business) package which has no SLA.

But see these re compensation

https://www.virginmedia.com/help/automatic-compensation

https://store.virginmedia.com/the-legal-stuff/terms-and-conditions-for-fibre-optic-services/automati...

https://www.ofcom.org.uk/phones-telecoms-and-internet/advice-for-consumers/costs-and-billing/automat...

--------------------
John
--------------------