Menu
jkumaruk
Joining in
Message 1 of 5
Flag for a moderator

Hub3 with Asus RT-AC68U

Hi all

Apologies I am new to this and not very technical so please forgive me if this has been discussed before.

I have recently got the 68U and configured it with the Hub3 in modem mode, however one of my devices was hard coded with an IP address (plus the device needed a special adapter to connect a ethernet cable) therefore I changed the Hub3 back to router mode to be able to access the device wirelessly. 

I changed the device to use DHCP, and was about to change the Hub3 back to modem mode but noticed that all the devices connected to Asus were working.  I have now switched off Wifi in Hub3 and keep it in router mode.

I have DHCP enabled for both Hub3 and 68U with hub in a xxx.xxx.0.1/254 range 68U in xxx.xxx.1.1/254 range.  Does this/will this cause any issues?

One thing I noticed I cannot enable DDNS on the 68U inorder to get external access as it say: "The wireless router currently uses a private WAN IP address. This router may be in the multiple-NAT environment and DDNS service cannot work in this environment."  However I do not need external access to manage the 68U at this point!

Thank you.

0 Kudos
griffin
Alessandro Volta
Message 2 of 5
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Hub3 with Asus RT-AC68U

I am a bit puzzled why you put the Hub into modem mode to connect a device wirelessly, couldn't you just connect the device to the Asus's wireless?

With the routers daisy chained with two different subnets, devices on the 192.168.0.xxx subnet will not be able to see devices on the 192.168.1.xxx subnet.

You are also double Natting which may cause issues with online games, VPN and port forwarding. otherwise it will be fine

jkumaruk
Joining in
Message 3 of 5
Flag for a moderator

Thanks griffin