cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Hub 4 wifi coverage

Neil2021
On our wavelength

So I'm totally new to virgin and i'm getting gig1 installed on the 12th March and I'm just wondering how good the wifi coverage of the hub 4 is, I've watched a few reviews but not much is mentioned about the actual wifi coverage

I live in a 3 storey new build house and with me the wife and 4 kids and the massive amount of wifi devices we have plus all my smart home tech, just wondering how the hub is going to cope with all my devices

I was currently using bt whole home and had 3 discs on each floor, only had one downstairs as the ring doorbell which is outside wasn't really getting a strong signal but this setup has provided really strong wifi around the whole house

So wondering how the hub 4 will cope with saying reaching the top floor on it's own, it's not a massive house or anything but i'm already thinking about will I need wifi boosters or thinking of getting a wifi mesh system, seen a post actually about using the bt whole home wifi with a virgin hub?

So should I already start thinking about getting wifi extenders from virgin after my  install or maybe getting a mesh system like tp link deco or orbi, my site visit engineer said they don't carry the wifi extenders on them anymore so I know I won't get one on my install date

Thank in advance

8 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

Accepted Solutions

jbrennand
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person

The "pod" will be free to you - once they get them back in stock !

TBH - I would say in your situation you should be looking for a good quality Mesh sytem - preferably a triband and wifi6 one with one unit by the Hub (in modem mode) and one each on the other floors.

--------------------
John
--------------------