Menu
Reply
Sweet16
  • 32
  • 2
  • 7
On our wavelength
829 Views
Message 1 of 60
Flag for a moderator

Hub 3 Disconnections

Yet another disconnection this morning 2/1/2022 at approx 0020hrs. Left disconnected until 0207hrs to allow BQM to pick up problems. No change from usual pattern. Switched off hub between 0207 and 0224 hrs to ensure monitoring correct IP. BQM showed solid red block so all correct.

Will post Logs (hopefully) below along with BQM for reference. Interestingly some of the disconnections coincide almost identically with log “Notice ATOM is restarted as part of self healing”. Maybe I’m just clutching at straws now. At my wits end. HELP please. 

Network Log

Time

Priority

Description

02/01/2022 09:54:26

notice

LAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

02/01/2022 00:18:49

notice

NOTICE ATOM is restarted as part of Self Healing Mechanism;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

01/01/2022 06:48:31

Error

DHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

31/12/2021 11:26:37

critical

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

31/12/2021 10:00:35

notice

LAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

31/12/2021 10:00:14

Warning!

LAN login FAILED : Incorrect Username / Password / ConnectionType;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

30/12/2021 08:56:9

notice

LAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

30/12/2021 03:38:39

notice

NOTICE ATOM is restarted as part of Self Healing Mechanism;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

30/12/2021 03:31:38

critical

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

30/12/2021 02:53:35

notice

NOTICE ATOM is restarted as part of Self Healing Mechanism;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

30/12/2021 02:49:36

critical

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

30/12/2021 02:31:3

notice

NOTICE ATOM is restarted as part of Self Healing Mechanism;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

30/12/2021 02:28:38

critical

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

29/12/2021 23:38:20

notice

NOTICE ATOM is restarted as part of Self Healing Mechanism;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

27/12/2021 15:25:57

critical

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

27/12/2021 09:50:30

Warning!

RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

27/12/2021 09:33:5

notice

LAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

01/01/1970 00:01:37

critical

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

27/12/2021 09:19:35

notice

LAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

27/12/2021 09:11:1

Warning!

RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MA

 

 

 

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Adduxi
  • 6.11K
  • 513
  • 1.58K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
824 Views
Message 2 of 60
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3 Disconnections

Can you post the power levels as well for both Downstream and Upstream.

The ATOM restarting we think is due to the CPU in the Hub getting overloaded.  The restart kills the processes and starts up again on a clean slate, so to speak.  

You could try a 60 second pinhole factory reset as below;
Remove any ethernet cables from the Hub and hold the pinhole reset switch for 60 seconds. Do NOT reboot the Hub, just let it do it's thing. Note you will need the passwords from the bottom of the Hub afterwards, so make sure they are legible.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
Sweet16
  • 32
  • 2
  • 7
On our wavelength
822 Views
Message 3 of 60
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3 Disconnections

Downstream bonded channels

Channel

Frequency (Hz)

Power (dBmV)

SNR (dB)

Modulation

Channel ID

1

139000000

5.5

38

256 qam

1

2

147000000

5.6

40

256 qam

2

3

155000000

5.8

40

256 qam

3

4

163000000

5.5

40

256 qam

4

5

171000000

5.6

40

256 qam

5

6

179000000

5.9

40

256 qam

6

7

187000000

6.3

40

256 qam

7

8

195000000

6.3

40

256 qam

8

9

203000000

6.3

40

256 qam

9

10

211000000

6.3

40

256 qam

10

11

219000000

6.4

40

256 qam

11

12

227000000

6.5

40

256 qam

12

13

235000000

6.5

40

256 qam

13

14

243000000

6.4

40

256 qam

14

15

251000000

6.5

40

256 qam

15

16

259000000

6.5

40

256 qam

16

17

267000000

6.6

40

256 qam

17

18

275000000

6.5

40

256 qam

18

19

283000000

6.6

40

256 qam

19

20

291000000

6.5

40

256 qam

20

21

299000000

6.8

40

256 qam

21

22

307000000

6.6

40

256 qam

22

23

315000000

7

40

256 qam

23

24

323000000

6.9

40

256 qam

24

0 Kudos
Reply
Adduxi
  • 6.11K
  • 513
  • 1.58K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
814 Views
Message 4 of 60
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3 Disconnections

Can you post the Pre and PostRS errors from the Downstream tab as well.  Also the Upstream, thanks !

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
Sweet16
  • 32
  • 2
  • 7
On our wavelength
813 Views
Message 5 of 60
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Hub 3 Disconnections

Upstream bonded channels

Channel

Frequency (Hz)

Power (dBmV)

Symbol Rate (ksps)

Modulation

Channel ID

1

60300288

43.8

5120

64 qam

1

2

53700074

43.8

5120

64 qam

2

3

39400175

43.3

5120

64 qam

4

4

46200064

43.5

5120

32 qam

3

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel

Channel Type

T1 Timeouts

T2 Timeouts

T3 Timeouts

T4 Timeouts

1

ATDMA

0

0

0

0

2

ATDMA

0

0

0

0

3

ATDMA

0

0

0

0

4

ATDMA

0

0

0

0

0 Kudos
Reply
Sweet16
  • 32
  • 2
  • 7
On our wavelength
807 Views
Message 6 of 60
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3 Disconnections

channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

11390000005.538256 qam1
21470000005.640256 qam2
31550000005.840256 qam3
41630000005.540256 qam4
51710000005.840256 qam5
61790000005.940256 qam6
71870000006.340256 qam7
81950000006.340256 qam8
92030000006.340256 qam9
102110000006.340256 qam10
112190000006.540256 qam11
122270000006.540256 qam12
132350000006.540256 qam13
142430000006.540256 qam14
152510000006.540256 qam15
162590000006.540256 qam16
172670000006.640256 qam17
182750000006.540256 qam18
192830000006.640256 qam19
202910000006.640256 qam20
212990000006.840256 qam21
223070000006.640256 qam22
23315000000740256 qam23
243230000006.940256 qam24



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked38.690
2Locked40.350
3Locked40.960
4Locked40.360
5Locked40.340
6Locked40.3140
7Locked40.3220
8Locked40.3180
9Locked40.9190
10Locked40.360
11Locked40.350
12Locked40.370
13Locked40.950
14Locked40.350
15Locked40.960
16Locked40.350
17Locked40.360
18Locked40.350
19Locked40.360
20Locked40.3110
21Locked40.370
22Locked40.340
23Locked40.360
24Locked40.960
0 Kudos
Reply
Adduxi
  • 6.11K
  • 513
  • 1.58K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
803 Views
Message 7 of 60
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3 Disconnections

One of your Upstream is at 32QAM, and they all should be 64.  I suspect this may be the problem.?  All the rest of the stats look fine.

A VM technician will be required to fix this. If you wait here a day or two, a VM Mod will pick this up.

In the meantime you could try the full reset ?  Just bear in mind this is a complete reset, so any custom changes you may have made on the Hub will be lost.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
Sweet16
  • 32
  • 2
  • 7
On our wavelength
798 Views
Message 8 of 60
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3 Disconnections

Thank you for your help. Glad someone actually believes me and that a problem is evident. How will I know that this problem has been actioned?

0 Kudos
Reply
Sweet16
  • 32
  • 2
  • 7
On our wavelength
759 Views
Message 9 of 60
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3 Disconnections

Reference back to my earlier post a few days ago on same issue. All four upstream channels were set at 64 although one of these now appears to be at 32 on latest post?. Why would this change. In addition, when I initiated the BQM the other day it ran for 12 hours and then suddenly stopped whilst recording solid red bar ( packet loss). The only way I could get the BQM to monitor again was by disabling the firewall?. Not sure what is going on with this connection. Could hub be faulty? I am loath to purchase an independent router and switch the VM Hub 3 to modem if the same issue is likely to be experienced. 

0 Kudos
Reply
gary_dexter
  • 32.63K
  • 2.02K
  • 4.47K
Alessandro Volta
740 Views
Message 10 of 60
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3 Disconnections

You need to wait for a forum mod to reply with the next steps


*****
If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
Office 365, Dynamics CRM and Cloud Computing Jedi
0 Kudos
Reply