cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Hub 3.0 wifi working, ethernet not working

JamesBarnaby1
Tuning in

Before we go any further, I have over 30 years experience in the IT industry and a degree in computer science so please be as technical as possible and listen to what I'm saying.

Several months ago the ethernet ports on our hub 3.0 stopped working. I tried everything suggested, full reset, loopback, different cables etc. No luck so contacted customer support who booked an engineer. 

Later that day my ports magically started working again, so I contacted customer support who said it had been a server issue and they cancelled the engineer.

Today they've stopped working again, and I've tried all the "fixes" again.

Questions:

1. Do the ethernet ports route to a different DHCP server than the WiFi connections.

2. If the answer to 1. is no then is it likely to be an intermittent hardware fault.

Cheers

James M34 3QZ

5 REPLIES 5

Natalie_L
Forum Team (Retired)
Forum Team (Retired)

Hi JamesBarnaby1, 

Thank you for reaching back out to us here on the Community. 

I am sorry to hear the ports have stopped working again, is this still the case today or have you seen any improvements?

DHCP grab the IP address but also assign a specific one locally. You will have your main IP address and then a local (192.168.0.1/192.168.0.2) for each device on both ethernet and WiFi.

Thanks 

Nat

Thanks for your reply, but respectfully what I'd like is for a VM infrastructure engineer to answer my specific questions, as there seems to be no way of contacting them directly. Unless you know a way? 

Steven_L
Forum Team
Forum Team

Thanks for coming back to us @JamesBarnaby1, unfortunately, we cannot arrange for an infrastructure engineer to contact or you give you any contact details for the engineering team.

Regards,

Steven_L