Menu
Reply
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
aakash17m
Joining in
1,707 Views
Message 1 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Hub 3.0 Intermittent Connection

Hi,

I have a 100Mbps Hub 3.0 and it has a very intermittent connection. 

When I play on my PS4 the ping will be between 10-30ms then randomly spike to 200+ms. Even when I plug my ethernet cable in and move the PS4 into the room where the router is, it is still quite bad. 

I have checked my download speed and my PS4 receives around 60Mbps when next to the router.

If anyone can help me out that will be nice.

Thanks 🙂 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 9.46K
  • 980
  • 1.49K
jbrennand
Alessandro Volta
1,679 Views
Message 2 of 12
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Hub 3.0 Intermittent Connection


@aakash17m wrote:

Hi,

I have a 100Mbps Hub 3.0 and it has a very intermittent connection. 

When I play on my PS4 the ping will be between 10-30ms then randomly spike to 200+ms. Even when I plug my ethernet cable in and move the PS4 into the room where the router is, it is still quite bad. 

I have checked my download speed and my PS4 receives around 60Mbps when next to the router.

If anyone can help me out that will be nice.

Thanks 🙂 


Need to work out whether this is just wifi related or evident on ethernet connected devices too.  If it's just wifi then there are a number of things to do to improve that come back if it is.  If cable is affected too, then it could be a faulty hub or a network connection issue.  To test that, post up your network stats as laid out below and see if anyone can spot a problem

Re. the gaming - you are aware of the Hub3 Puma6 chipset latency issue ?  New VM firmware is reported to help that - check which you are on

-----

if you could go to http://192.168.0.1  (or http://192.168.100.1 ) in your browser [there is no need to login] and then click on the  “router status” icon at  top right - or bottom middle - of first page up -- depending on which hub you have  and then copy/paste 3 sets of data onto here - the downstream, upstream , &  network logs.  Don't worry about the formatting it can be easily read (by others & not by me!), but try and avoid using screen shots & don’t include personal data or mac addresses. 

Here is an example of how they should appear

https://community.virginmedia.com/t5/Networking-and-WiFi/Superhub-3-0-Overheating/td-p/3816312

If there looks to be a network connection problem, a VM Forum staff member on here will organise a technician visit or you may be quicker calling the help line for that.


--------------------
John
--------------------

My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
aakash17m
Joining in
1,673 Views
Message 3 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3.0 Intermittent Connection

Hi,

Thanks for your help. I've collected the data and put them here. Now I'll just wait for a VM staff member to see this. 

 Status:

Cable Modem StatusItem Status Comments

Acquired Downstream Channel (Hz)
298750000
Locked
Ranged Upstream Channel (Hz)
46200000
Locked
Provisioning State
Online

 

Downstream:

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

12987500005.337256 qam21
23227500004.837256 qam24
33147500005.438256 qam23
43067500005.538256 qam22
5290750000538256 qam20
62827500005.338256 qam19
72747500005.538256 qam18
82667500005.538256 qam17
9258750000538256 qam16
10250750000538256 qam15
11242750000538256 qam14
12234750000538256 qam13
132267500004.837256 qam12
142187500004.337256 qam11
152107500004.637256 qam10
16202750000538256 qam9
171947500004.938256 qam8
181867500004.538256 qam7
191787500004.538256 qam6
201707500004.538256 qam5
211627500004.838256 qam4
221547500004.337256 qam3
23146750000438256 qam2
241387500003.738256 qam1



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked37.66050
2Locked37.36140
3Locked38.65680
4Locked38.65360
5Locked38.65090
6Locked38.63850
7Locked38.63440
8Locked38.64040
9Locked38.65350
10Locked38.96320
11Locked38.66600
12Locked38.66890
13Locked37.37980
14Locked37.39940
15Locked37.38830
16Locked38.69380
17Locked38.99470
18Locked38.99190
19Locked38.910200
20Locked38.69680
21Locked38.612770
22Locked37.614760
23Locked38.616230
24Locked38.921810

 

Upstream:

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

14620000045.5512064 qam85
23260000045.3512064 qam87
33940000045.8512064 qam86
42580000045512064 qam88



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0020
2ATDMA0010
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0030

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
aakash17m
Joining in
1,669 Views
Message 4 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3.0 Intermittent Connection

Screen Shot 2018-09-11 at 16.07.16.pngScreen Shot 2018-09-11 at 16.07.23.pngScreen Shot 2018-09-11 at 16.07.31.pngScreen Shot 2018-09-11 at 16.07.38.pngFor some reason I wasn't able to post a text version of this so I had to take screenshots

Network Log^

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 14.59K
  • 432
  • 46
Moderator (Retired) Ralph_R
Moderator (Retired)
1,539 Views
Message 5 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3.0 Intermittent Connection

@aakash17m

Thanks for posting, nothing obviously amiss from the stats posted. I've also run a few checks on your Hub and local network segment from this end and all looks in good order.

Is it only on the PS4 where you're seeing any latency problems? What do the speed and ping results look like from speedtest.net on other connected devices?

Kind rgds

 

Ralph_R
Forum Moderator

The do's and don'ts. Keep the community welcoming for all. Follow the house rules


0 Kudos
Reply
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
aakash17m
Joining in
1,532 Views
Message 6 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3.0 Intermittent Connection

Hi,

 

On my other devices (iPhone and MacBook) I am normally receiving between 60-100Mbps, however when I check the speed on my PS4 it is between 6-20Mbps. 

The ping on my other devices are around 11ms. On my PS4 it is extremely high. 

I went on to  http://192.168.0.1 and used the Network Diagnostic Tool and it states that my home network has a few problems including broadband service and WiFi connections. 

Screen Shot 2018-09-19 at 12.56.38.png

Thanks for helping,

Aakash

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 1.23K
  • 31
  • 356
Moderator
Moderator
1,513 Views
Message 7 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3.0 Intermittent Connection

Thanks Aakash ...sounds like it may be WiFi related.

To aid diagnostics, are you able to put the Hub into modem mode and run a wired connection to your PS4 and retest?

Cheers

 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Navids
Joining in
1,491 Views
Message 8 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3.0 Intermittent Connection

Hi Community

I have the same problem with Hub 3, just as I had previously with Hub1. Internet disconnects for 5 minutes every now and interrupting Internet TV and VoIP. Really annoying. I am using Powerline Extender to boost the signal across. 

And here are the logs:

Network Log

Time Priority Description

2018-08-29 22:16:44.00criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2018-08-29 22:45:43.00ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2018-08-30 02:42:01.00ErrorDHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2018-08-30 16:44:25.00criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

 

 

 

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

12990000004.340256 qam21
23230000004.440256 qam24
33150000004.140256 qam2

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

12360000034.3512064 qam15
23020000035.5512064 qam14
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
aakash17m
Joining in
1,426 Views
Message 9 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3.0 Intermittent Connection

Hi,

Recently the wifi has dropped in speed. 

When I test how fast the download speed is, it sometimes reaches 1 or 2Mbps. 

I think my router box is broken but every time I call up VM they say everything is ok, even though I have received many error messages from the network diagnostic tool. 

Is there any way to get a VM engineer to either replace or fix the router?

Thanks Aakash

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 9.07K
  • 248
  • 545
Forum Team (Retired) Nat_J
Forum Team (Retired)
1,392 Views
Message 10 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3.0 Intermittent Connection

I'm sorry to hear this aakash17m,

 

I've located your details and everything appears to be within specification from this end.

 

How have things been since posting?

 

Nat_J

 

 


Who's who? Find out more about our community members. Good folk to know


0 Kudos
Reply