Menu
Reply
ThatCoffeeGuy
  • 4
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
207 Views
Message 1 of 11
Flag for a moderator

High power levels

Hi there just want to make sure my power levels are ok as they seem a bit high and I’m experiencing very high ping and jitter on speed tests and many of my games pleas find below a pasting of the power levels 

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

13310000001440256 qam25
225100000013.140256 qam15
325900000013.340256 qam16
42670000001340256 qam17
527500000013.338256 qam18
628300000013.840256 qam19
729100000013.940256 qam20
82990000001440256 qam21
930700000014.140256 qam22
1031500000014.440256 qam23
1132300000014.340256 qam24
123390000001440256 qam26
1334700000014.340256 qam27
143550000001440256 qam28
1536300000013.640256 qam29
1637100000013.540256 qam30
1737900000013.540256 qam31
1838700000013.840256 qam32
1939500000013.540256 qam33
2040300000013.140256 qam34
2141100000013.340256 qam35
2241900000013.340256 qam36
234270000001340256 qam37
2443500000012.540256 qam38

 

0 Kudos
Reply
conman33158
  • 703
  • 63
  • 92
Superfast
185 Views
Message 2 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: High power levels

Your power levels are way too high and your SNR is a bit on the high side as well. Have you checked for any ongoing issues in your area? If no issues in your area you will need an engineers visit to put these right. Best to ring VM on or just after 8am or alternatively you can wait here for a Virgin staff member to pick it up, typically between 5-10 days, sometimes sooner, sometimes later depending on how busy they are.

Try not to bump the thread as this will throw you further down the list

***********************************************************************************************************************************
Super Hub 4.0 (modem mode) - Gig1 Fibre FTTP - Asus RT-AX82U & Asus RT-AX56U with AiMesh setup
***********************************************************************************************************************************
My Broadband Ping - conman33158
0 Kudos
Reply
gitty
  • 109
  • 2
  • 26
Up to speed
172 Views
Message 3 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: High power levels

Regarding SNR: It cannot be on the high side. High is better, so there is no upper limit.
0 Kudos
Reply
conman33158
  • 703
  • 63
  • 92
Superfast
163 Views
Message 4 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: High power levels


@gitty wrote:
Regarding SNR: It cannot be on the high side. High is better, so there is no upper limit.

Your right mate, too early, haven't had my coffee yet 🙂

***********************************************************************************************************************************
Super Hub 4.0 (modem mode) - Gig1 Fibre FTTP - Asus RT-AX82U & Asus RT-AX56U with AiMesh setup
***********************************************************************************************************************************
My Broadband Ping - conman33158
0 Kudos
Reply
ThatCoffeeGuy
  • 4
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
158 Views
Message 5 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: High power levels

Thanks a lot I thaught I was a little high could this be why my jitter and latency is so high sometimes 

  • I shall get on to virgin today and see if their is any problems in my area also my upstream is below just to see if that’s bad or good

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

13940000034512064 qam6
22579998134512064 qam8
33259998634512064 qam7
44620000034512064 qam5

 

0 Kudos
Reply
conman33158
  • 703
  • 63
  • 92
Superfast
135 Views
Message 6 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: High power levels

Yeah mate, the high power levels would certainly cause some problems. Upstream looks fine, all on 64 QAM where they should be.

***********************************************************************************************************************************
Super Hub 4.0 (modem mode) - Gig1 Fibre FTTP - Asus RT-AX82U & Asus RT-AX56U with AiMesh setup
***********************************************************************************************************************************
My Broadband Ping - conman33158
0 Kudos
Reply
sayekm
  • 304
  • 26
  • 56
Fibre optic
128 Views
Message 7 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: High power levels

The upstream power seems very low. They should be above 40 to 45 ideally.

Also its always good idea to keep a backup 6db forward path attenuator. My downstream power was around 7 in summer but in winter suddenly jumped to 10+. Sudden big jump but fitting the 6db attenuator brought the level down to desirable level.  

Your other option is very long wait for engineer to come round and fit a attenuator 🙂

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/FORWARD-PATH-ATTENUATORS-3DB-6-DB-10DB-15-DB-07950-600696/274670744148?ha...

 

 




xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
M200 Oomph - 5GB SIM + 3 extra SIM family plan - BT whole Wi-Fi - Sky Q
............................................................................................................................
Don't cry over Virgin price increase instead speak to retentions team and negotiate a better deal.
0 Kudos
Reply
Adduxi
  • 2.49K
  • 176
  • 511
Problem sorter
115 Views
Message 8 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: High power levels


@sayekm wrote:

<snip>

Also its always good idea to keep a backup 6db forward path attenuator. My downstream power was around 7 in summer but in winter suddenly jumped to 10+. Sudden big jump but fitting the 6db attenuator brought the level down to desirable level.  

 


With a jump that big the cynic in me would say your tap point was moved in the Cabinet.  I had a similar jump not so long ago, I also used an FPA to adjust.

ThatCoffeeGuy
  • 4
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
64 Views
Message 9 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: High power levels

Thanks to your guys recommendations I have baught some fpas and they Are arriving today so I shall update on what happens 

0 Kudos
Reply
ThatCoffeeGuy
  • 4
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
42 Views
Message 10 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: High power levels

New power levels 

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

1395000000-1.738256 qam33
2251000000-338256 qam15
3259000000-2.238256 qam16
4267000000-2.738256 qam17
5275000000-2.738256 qam18
6283000000-1.538256 qam19
7291000000-2.438256 qam20
8299000000-0.540256 qam21
9307000000-1.938256 qam22
10315000000-0.938256 qam23
11323000000-1.738256 qam24
12331000000-1.238256 qam25
13339000000-0.938256 qam26
14347000000-1.538256 qam27
15355000000-138256 qam28
16363000000-2.238256 qam29
17371000000-140256 qam30
18379000000-2.238256 qam31
19387000000-1.538256 qam32
20403000000-2.238256 qam34
21411000000-238256 qam35
22419000000-338256 qam36
23427000000-1.940256 qam37
24435000000-2.538256 qam38



Downstream bonded channels

 

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors

0 Kudos
Reply