cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Google WiFi Mesh problems

Hinesd
Tuning in

Hi I’ve recently been experiencing with my Google WiFi Nest. This used to work fine but now the Mesh signal is weak and often drops out completely. It says move the Google WiFi points closer together but even when I have them right next to each other it still shows a weak Mesh. I’ve recently moved to a V6 set top box so wondering if it might be that. I’ve tried contacting Virgin but get told they can’t help with third party devises however from looking through this forum this seems to be a common issue. I’ve seen suggestions that I should put the Hub3 into Modem mode but I’m no IT expert and worry what the knock on effect might be (will it impact my TV or WiFi connection?). If this is recommended how do I go about it? I’ve also read that Upstream/Downstream speeds might be an issue so have attached my diagnostics.

Any help gratefully received.

Thanks

D2ACFA79-0C67-4E9C-ABA3-A3CE39C08C37.jpeg

7307B4D8-DB4F-4674-8BA6-A23AB88BD34C.jpeg

ACBFB710-ABD8-4418-AB6C-B94AAAADA98F.jpeg

31A13ADD-C9C4-43B6-A2EA-DBAFEF5FE6C6.jpeg

5 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

Accepted Solutions

gary_dexter
Alessandro Volta
If the hub is in Router Mode still and the Google mesh isn't set to AP/Bridge mode then you will run into all sorts of issues.

To use them more efficiently you need to put the hub into modem mode and only have the Google mesh node wired to the hub

If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
Office 365, Dynamics CRM and Cloud Computing Jedi

See where this Helpful Answer was posted

sophist
Trouble shooter

modem mode is the recommended way to set this up. 

follow these instructions to put the hub into modem mode and get the google wifi mesh set up.