cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Extra ports on Hub

Sjmwych
Tuning in

I've run out of ports on the Hub! What do I need to get??

11 REPLIES 11

Anonymous
Not applicable

@Sjmwych wrote:

I've run out of ports on the Hub! What do I need to get??

https://www.amazon.co.uk/NETGEAR-Ethernet-Unmanaged-Internet-Splitter/dp/B07PYSNSDD 

plus some ethernet cables.

Maybe a better router with 1Gb ports to use your hub in modem mode too.

---------------------------------------------------------------

Thank you - does it slow things down at all? 

@Sjmwych wrote:

No, not at all.

g0akc
Problem sorter

@Sjmwych wrote:

Short answer - no

(make sure its s gigabit switch - the one shown in the link is)

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I know a bit about Wi-Fi, Telecoms, and TV as I used to do it for a living but I'm not perfect so don't beat me up... If you make things you make mistakes!

Anonymous
Not applicable

@Sjmwych wrote:

As already stated no, you won't 'see' any perceivable difference.

The one I linked to may appear cheap, however they are generally for home use devices, and it has a 10Gbps bandwidth so you should be ok... 😀

https://www.netgear.co.uk/images/datasheet/switches/GS305_GS308_GS305P_GS308P.pdf 

Sorry if it’s a stupid question! But what does the setup look like? I looked at the info sheet you kindly sent and that shows nothing attached to a router - do you plug the Netgear device into the router and everything into it? Or do you still have some stuff plugged directly to the router and other stuff to Netgear??

@Sjmwych wrote: