Menu
Reply
Highlighted
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Janerwk77
Joining in
189 Views
Message 1 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Ethernet Connection Keeps cutting out

I have hub 3.0

I had Virgin media broadband installed two days ago and ever since then i keep losing my Ethernet connection. My PC is hard wired directly to my hub 3.0 router, My Ethernet connection disconnects from the internet constantly.  I have tried a new network Ethernet cable.  I have called virgin media for help and they were useless! - basically said router was fine not their fault! Nothing they can do!! And asked if i wanted to speak to an IT dept to pay for assistance!! im a new customer and not receiving the service i am supposed to.  It was working fine with Sky two days ago.  I work from home and work online and have lost hours of work due to the constant disconnection.  Can anyone help.

I've logged into the hub 3.0 here is the info from the network status

Cable Modem Status
Item	Status	Comments
Acquired Downstream Channel (Hz)	323000000	Locked
Ranged Upstream Channel (Hz)	25800000	Locked
Provisioning State	Online	

Downstream bonded channels
Channel	Frequency (Hz)	Power (dBmV)	SNR (dB)	Modulation	Channel ID
1	323000000	-0.2	38	256 qam	24
2	315000000	-0.2	38	256 qam	23
3	219000000	-0.2	38	256 qam	11
4	211000000	-0.2	37	256 qam	10
5	203000000	0	38	256 qam	9
6	195000000	0.2	38	256 qam	8
7	179000000	0.5	38	256 qam	6
8	171000000	0.7	38	256 qam	5
9	307000000	-0.5	38	256 qam	22
10	251000000	-0.7	38	256 qam	15
11	187000000	0.4	38	256 qam	7
12	163000000	1	38	256 qam	4
13	155000000	1.2	38	256 qam	3
14	147000000	1.9	38	256 qam	2
15	139000000	1.9	38	256 qam	1
16	299000000	-0.5	38	256 qam	21
17	291000000	-0.7	38	256 qam	20
18	283000000	-1	38	256 qam	19
19	275000000	-1.2	38	256 qam	18
20	267000000	-1	38	256 qam	17
21	259000000	-0.7	38	256 qam	16
22	243000000	-0.5	38	256 qam	14
23	235000000	-0.4	38	256 qam	13
24	227000000	-0.2	38	256 qam	12



Downstream bonded channels
Channel	Locked Status	RxMER (dB)	Pre RS Errors	Post RS Errors
1	Locked	38.6	6	0
2	Locked	38.6	6	0
3	Locked	38.9	7	0
4	Locked	37.3	7	0
5	Locked	38.6	5	0
6	Locked	38.9	8	0
7	Locked	38.6	22	0
8	Locked	38.6	21	0
9	Locked	38.6	6	0
10	Locked	38.9	6	0
11	Locked	38.6	6	0
12	Locked	38.6	19	0
13	Locked	38.6	21	0
14	Locked	38.6	21	0
15	Locked	38.6	0	0
16	Locked	38.6	11	0
17	Locked	38.6	10	0
18	Locked	38.6	8	0
19	Locked	38.6	8	0
20	Locked	38.9	11	0
21	Locked	38.6	7	0
22	Locked	38.6	8	0
23	Locked	38.6	7	0
24	Locked	38.9	8	0
Refresh data
Upstream bonded channels
Channel	Frequency (Hz)	Power (dBmV)	Symbol Rate (ksps)	Modulation	Channel ID
1	25800000	38	5120	16 qam	12
2	32600000	38	5120	16 qam	11
3	39400000	38	5120	16 qam	10
4	46200000	39.5	5120	16 qam	9



Upstream bonded channels
Channel	Channel Type	T1 Timeouts	T2 Timeouts	T3 Timeouts	T4 Timeouts
1	ATDMA	0	0	1	0
2	ATDMA	0	0	0	0
3	ATDMA	0	0	1	0
4	ATDMA	0	0	0	0
Refresh data


Primary Downstream Service Flow
SFID	394
Max Traffic Rate	402500000
Max Traffic Burst	42600
Min Traffic Rate	0



Primary Upstream Service Flow
SFID	393
Max Traffic Rate	22010000
Max Traffic Burst	42600
Min Traffic Rate	0
Max Concatenated Burst	16320
Scheduling Type	BestEffort
Network Log
Time	Priority	Description
1970-01-01 00:01:22.00	Error	Missing Mandatory MDD TLV on primary DS Channel;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2018-12-05 17:23:43.00	notice	SW Download INIT - Via Config file
2018-12-05 17:26:08.00	Error	Disruption during SW download - Power Failure
2018-12-05 17:26:17.00	notice	SW Download INIT - Via Config file
2018-12-05 17:28:37.00	notice	SW download Successful - Via Config file
2018-12-05 17:58:14.00	Warning!	RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2018-12-05 17:58:15.00	critical	SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2018-12-05 17:58:15.00	Warning!	RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2018-12-05 17:58:15.00	critical	SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2018-12-05 17:58:15.00	Warning!	RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2018-12-05 17:58:21.00	Warning!	Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2018-12-05 17:58:28.00	Warning!	RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2018-12-05 18:07:01.00	Error	DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2018-12-05 18:16:54.00	Error	DHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2018-12-05 18:16:55.00	notice	DHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-rtsxxl35016u-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2018-12-05 19:28:22.00	Error	DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2018-12-05 19:47:55.00	Error	DHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2018-12-05 19:47:55.00	notice	DHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-rtsxxl35016u-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2018-12-05 22:53:07.00	critical	No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 1.6K
  • 88
  • 292
Adduxi
Super solver
181 Views
Message 2 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Ethernet Connection Keeps cutting out

Power levels, logs and T3's all look fine. So we can assume the circuit is okay.

Presume you have tried all 4 Ethernet ports on the Hub 3? 

As a last try, have you done a 30 sec pinhole reset just to be sure.?  Don't guess the time, and add a few more seconds for good measure.

As for working from home, there are no SLA's on residential circuits, so VM will just ignore that.  If you really need it, they can supply a "Business" contract, it's more expensive, but does have SLA's.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Janerwk77
Joining in
172 Views
Message 3 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Ethernet Connection Keeps cutting out

Hi Adduxi

Thansk for replying quickly,

Yes ive tried other ports as virgin suggested over phone.

How do i do a pinhole reset?

The service would be adequate for working if it remained constant, its not even fit for home use, ive had to redo this post twice as internet cut out trying to post this reply lol

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 1.6K
  • 88
  • 292
Adduxi
Super solver
158 Views
Message 4 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Ethernet Connection Keeps cutting out

At the back of the Hub, you should see a small hole big enough for a paper clip.  Insert a straightened paper clip into this hole, and press and hold the switch for at least 30 seconds.  This will reset your Hub back to factory settings.  You will lose any custom settings you may have entered previously !

This may or may not work, but it's worth a shot.  Failing this, I would suspect the Hub 3 is broken and needs replaced.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Janerwk77
Joining in
148 Views
Message 5 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Ethernet Connection Keeps cutting out

Thanks

I found the hole, i will try that see if it works. Virgin media says the equipment was working fine but i will need to phone them back if this doesnt work, im also trying to use wifi network adapter to see if the wifi is any better.
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Janerwk77
Joining in
140 Views
Message 6 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Ethernet Connection Keeps cutting out

Thanks for your help,

 

The wifi is now working via the wireless network adapter i tried so i will just need to remove the ethernet from my pc and use the wifi adapter as its more stable.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 3.08K
  • 384
  • 516
jbrennand
Wise owl
133 Views
Message 7 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Ethernet Connection Keeps cutting out


@Janerwk77 wrote:

Thanks for your help,  The wifi is now working via the wireless network adapter i tried so i will just need to remove the ethernet from my pc and use the wifi adapter as its more stable.


It really shouldn't be more stable, convenient yes, stable - no.  Have you tried a new Cat6a ethernet cable - they can "go off" with age.  You could also try replacing your PC's network card (if it is only 10/100) to a gigabit one.


--------------------
Services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes, Superhub2 with VIVID 200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Janerwk77
Joining in
127 Views
Message 8 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Ethernet Connection Keeps cutting out

Thanks jbrennand,

I used a develo Cat6a ethernet cable with the hub initially, its only a year old. I used it with the devolo powerline kit with sky broadband until two days ago as my router was in a diff room-this worked fine, sky was just slow which is the only reason i switched to virgin. i also tried changing to the ethernet cable virgin media cable installer gave me two days ago.

I will try a new Network adapter and cable for my pc. I got the virgin hub installed next to my pc so i could use the ethernet connection for better connection.

The wifi is more reliable at the moment as i cant even open a new page, send a email or refresh a page without the ethernet connection being lost, I will also try the powerline set up again until i get the new adapter.
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 3.08K
  • 384
  • 516
jbrennand
Wise owl
124 Views
Message 9 of 10
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Ethernet Connection Keeps cutting out


@Janerwk77 wrote:

The wifi is more reliable at the moment as i cant even open a new page, send a email or refresh a page without the ethernet connection being lost, I will also try the powerline set up again until i get the new adapter.

This is odd, if all is working as it should be, when the ethernet network connection drops then the wifi goes with down it.  If it doesn't, then its not a problem with network connection.  So either there is some strange malfunction in the Hub circuitry or there is a problem in the ethernet cabling/PC networking.  One thing you could try is putting another device on the end of the ethernet cable.  Do you have a laptop or can borrow one for a day or two?  That might help pinpoint where the problem lays. If that drops out too and a wifi device stays functional, you need a replacement Hub.


--------------------
Services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes, Superhub2 with VIVID 200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Janerwk77
Joining in
110 Views
Message 10 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Ethernet Connection Keeps cutting out

Thanks,

I connected my sons laptop, and it was a lot better, it still cut out few times but no where near as much, im hoping its not because he also has wifi on his laptop, but ive ordered network card and new cable from amazon so i will let you know if that has solved the issue or not
0 Kudos
Reply