Menu
Reply
Highlighted
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
429 Views
Message 1 of 8
Flag for a moderator

DNS queries taken over in modem mode

Hi, I have SH3 in modem mode and DLINK 1960 router. The router does generate a lot of system errors. It looks like it is not able to resolve DNS queries. I tried all sort of settings (VM media ones that the router picked up automatically, Google and Open DNS). The queries do get resolved in the end although it goes a bit slow.

 

Can you advise?

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 30.85K
  • 1.56K
  • 5.37K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
412 Views
Message 2 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: DNS queries taken over in modem mode

the SH doesnt do anything but be a dumb modem in modem mode. SO i'd be looking at faults with the dlink.

Can you resolve addresses from say google using nslookup
nslookup bbc.co.uk 8.8.8.8

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
407 Views
Message 3 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: DNS queries taken over in modem mode

I can resolve the addresses eventually. 

But it is not fast.

And when I check log files of the DLink router I can see loads of failed attempts:

2020-05-25 20:10:46 syslog: dnssd_clientstub ConnectToServer: connect() failed path:/var/run/mdnsd Socket:27 Err:-1 Errno:0 Success
2020-05-25 20:10:46 syslog: dnssd_clientstub DNSServiceRefDeallocate called with NULL DNSServiceRef
2020-05-25 20:10:49 syslog: dnssd_clientstub ConnectToServer: connect()-> No of tries: 1
2020-05-25 20:10:50 syslog: dnssd_clientstub ConnectToServer: connect()-> No of tries: 2
2020-05-25 20:10:51 syslog: dnssd_clientstub ConnectToServer: connect()-> No of tries: 3
2020-05-25 20:10:52 syslog: dnssd_clientstub ConnectToServer: connect() failed path:/var/run/mdnsd Socket:27 Err:-1 Errno:0 Success
2020-05-25 20:10:52 syslog: dnssd_clientstub DNSServiceRefDeallocate called with NULL DNSServiceRef
2020-05-25 20:10:55 syslog: dnssd_clientstub ConnectToServer: connect()-> No of tries: 1
2020-05-25 20:10:56 syslog: dnssd_clientstub ConnectToServer: connect()-> No of tries: 2
2020-05-25 20:10:57 syslog: dnssd_clientstub ConnectToServer: connect()-> No of tries: 3
2020-05-25 20:10:58 syslog: dnssd_clientstub ConnectToServer: connect() failed path:/var/run/mdnsd Socket:27 Err:-1 Errno:0 Success
2020-05-25 20:10:58 syslog: dnssd_clientstub DNSServiceRefDeallocate called with NULL DNSServiceRef
2020-05-25 20:11:01 syslog: dnssd_clientstub ConnectToServer: connect()-> No of tries: 1
2020-05-25 20:11:02 syslog: dnssd_clientstub ConnectToServer: connect()-> No of tries: 2

 

etc...

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 21.95K
  • 1.19K
  • 2.81K
Alessandro Volta
402 Views
Message 4 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: DNS queries taken over in modem mode

Fix the D-Link then.


*****
If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
Office 365, Dynamics CRM and Cloud Computing Jedi
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 2.14K
  • 134
  • 418
Problem sorter
389 Views
Message 5 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: DNS queries taken over in modem mode

Could it be the McAfee Secure Home causing issues? I believe all "internet" traffic is intercepted and checked by this router function.
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
353 Views
Message 6 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: DNS queries taken over in modem mode

Thanks Adduxi, I tried switching it off but the problem persists.
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 2.14K
  • 134
  • 418
Problem sorter
347 Views
Message 7 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: DNS queries taken over in modem mode

From a quick Google .... "So D'Link support has told me to turn off Smart Switch and assign a static channel to my 2.4GHz network. Fingers crossed this works."
Worth a try I suppose?
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 3
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
295 Views
Message 8 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: DNS queries taken over in modem mode

I'm having the same problem with my DIR-1960 but I have SH1. Please could you advise if you find a solution.

Sometimes no problem for weeks some weeks I get DNS issues every day. This week it's every evening and I'm losing internet completely rather than just slow.  I reboot everything,  OK for half an hour or so then off it goes again.  Was driving me nuts so have temporarily taken SH out of modem mode. 

I have an SH3 arriving in a day or two, hope that sorts it out.

0 Kudos
Reply