Menu
Reply
Highlighted
  • 27
  • 1
  • 4
On our wavelength
119 Views
Message 1 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Connection Dropping, SH3 Rebooting

Evening router just drops connection/restarts. sometimes it doesn't error log. notice one error log today but i had 3 reboots so far.

I use modem mode exclusively and its been fine until recently. also network test says fine

 my quality monitor today

a156b407b93b89012e9c801176ed95723dae98c2-20-11-2020

 

yesterday

deee5003e43b6d6fdece32de7dfffd914e79bfb8-19-11-2020

 

Here are my network logs.

20/11/2020 21:09:11noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=x;CMTS-MAC=x;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
20/11/2020 21:09:4Warning!LAN login FAILED : Incorrect Username / Password / ConnectionType;CM-MAC=x;CMTS-MAC=x;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
07/11/2020 09:54:35criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=x;CMTS-MAC=x;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/11/2020 13:05:25noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt060-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=x;CMTS-MAC=x;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/11/2020 13:05:25ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=x;CMTS-MAC=x;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
31/10/2020 21:14:8criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=x;CMTS-MAC=x;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
31/10/2020 06:41:45noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt060-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=x;CMTS-MAC=x;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
31/10/2020 06:41:45ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=x;CMTS-MAC=x;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
31/10/2020 06:41:42ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=x;CMTS-MAC=x;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
28/10/2020 07:01:20criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=x;CMTS-MAC=x;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
26/10/2020 11:11:43noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt060-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=x;CMTS-MAC=x;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
26/10/2020 11:11:43ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=x;CMTS-MAC=x;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
23/10/2020 02:48:9criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=x;CMTS-MAC=x;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
22/10/2020 23:23:36noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt060-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=x;CMTS-MAC=x;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
22/10/2020 23:23:36ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=x;CMTS-MAC=x;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
20/10/2020 15:14:49criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=x;CMTS-MAC=x;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
19/10/2020 09:59:50noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt060-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=x;CMTS-MAC=x;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
19/10/2020 09:59:50ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=x;CMTS-MAC=x;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
18/10/2020 14:24:56criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=x;CMTS-MAC=x;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
16/10/2020 10:05:4noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt060-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=x;CMTS-MAC=x;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
 
Spoiler
Downstream bonded channelsChannel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID
1331000000-1.740256 qam25
2203000000-1.240256 qam9
3211000000-1.240256 qam10
4219000000-1.240256 qam11
5227000000-1.540256 qam12
6235000000-1.540256 qam13
7243000000-1.540256 qam14
8251000000-1.540256 qam15
9259000000-1.540256 qam16
10267000000-1.540256 qam17
11275000000-1.740256 qam18
12283000000-1.440256 qam19
13291000000-1.440256 qam20
14299000000-1.240256 qam21
15307000000-1.540256 qam22
16315000000-1.540256 qam23
17323000000-1.740256 qam24
18371000000-1.540256 qam26
19379000000-1.440256 qam27
20387000000-1.540256 qam28
21395000000-1.540256 qam29
22403000000-1.540256 qam30
23411000000-1.540256 qam31
24419000000-1.740256 qam32


0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 27
  • 1
  • 4
On our wavelength
116 Views
Message 2 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Re: Connection Dropping, SH3 Rebooting

heres the rest

 

 

Spoiler

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked40.950
2Locked40.950
3Locked40.940
4Locked40.960
5Locked40.940
6Locked40.300
7Locked40.950
8Locked40.900
9Locked40.300
10Locked40.900
11Locked40.300
12Locked40.350
13Locked40.340
14Locked40.330
15Locked40.300
16Locked40.350
17Locked40.900
18Locked40.300
19Locked40.350
20Locked40.360
21Locked40.900
22Locked40.900
23Locked40.950
24Locked40.300

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

12580001237.5512064 qam6
23260000437.5512064 qam5
33940000239512064 qam4
44620003940512064 qam3
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 27
  • 1
  • 4
On our wavelength
43 Views
Message 3 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Re: Connection Dropping, SH3 Rebooting

here is todays graph , annoying no new errors reported again even tho the router rebooted.

it runs in modem mode only so there should be any issues.

 

ba747b5a74736d55bca63194aa7b99ae694b8cf9-22-11-2020

 

 

 

 

 

 

here is the 19ths graph

cc1dbbab3e448f0aba2a7047f765f6937eef48b3-19-11-2020

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Also my Pre RS errors have increased 

sBxakrF

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

CtNeW0gJ4t3qzU

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 5.47K
  • 614
  • 1.82K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
38 Views
Message 4 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Re: Connection Dropping, SH3 Rebooting

Hub stats look OK to me and no evidence of the hub rebooting in the log posted.  If it was rebooting then I'd expect to see an entry with a date stamp of 1970 on it.  A tiny rise in Pre RS errors is not going to impact your connection, those are errors the hub has seen and been able to deal with. 

What happens to the lights on the hub when you lose the connection?

As you are in modem mode, do you have your own router or just one device connected to the hub in modem mode?  If you have your own router the first thing VM staff will ask you to do is take it out of the equation to rule it out as the culprit.

______________________
Scott

My setup: VM TV box, M350 Fibre broadband with Hub 3 in modem mode connected to a Netgear R7000 router. Telewest/VM user since 2001.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 27
  • 1
  • 4
On our wavelength
25 Views
Message 5 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Re: Connection Dropping, SH3 Rebooting

It Yellow lights during the time from what it looks lik ,
then it looks like its rebooting and the green Icon for data handshaking begins

then it goes red

i have always used modem mode from when I initially had a SH1 and a different router because virgins wireless is notoriously bad and the amount of wireless issues it gets is amazing.

btw the router im using is the same as your the R7000 so you should know how solid it is

first time this has been an issue since i got the SH3 other than its bad initial ping 

its only had this issue in the recent month

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 5.47K
  • 614
  • 1.82K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
17 Views
Message 6 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Re: Connection Dropping, SH3 Rebooting

That light sequence fits with a restart, odd that the log doesn’t show anything.

Hopefully one of the forum team will be able to see what is wrong from their tests when they get to this thread.  Might take a few days before they get here.

______________________
Scott

My setup: VM TV box, M350 Fibre broadband with Hub 3 in modem mode connected to a Netgear R7000 router. Telewest/VM user since 2001.

 

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply