cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Changing DHCP settings cause Wi-Fi to turn off

A123456
Tuning in

I’m setting a device to a static IP address and every time I click on apply changes in the DHCP settings the Wi-Fi switches off. 
I had it set on my previous router. Engineer changed my router yesterday to a Hub 3.0. The device has the IP in its settings, I’ve been using it for 2 years.
I logged into my router, got the IP the device is on, set it to the IP I want (not in use by anything else) and set the rule. All ok until I click apply changes, that’s when the Wi-Fi switches off. I’ve tried it on 5g & 2.4g, both switch off. Does anyone have any suggestions? 

I will also be using port forwarding with this static IP. 

6 REPLIES 6

legacy1
Alessandro Volta
Its time to use your own router with 1Gb ports and put the hub in modem mode.
---------------------------------------------------------------

Adduxi
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person

Is this the WiFi on the Hub disables, or the WiFi on the device stops working? 

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

Hi, thanks for replying. 
I’ve run a test and it’s the wi-fi at the hub that goes off, not just the device. 
I can now successfully ping the static IP address of my device but can’t SSH into it like I did previously. Despite the wi-fi switching off, it seems to have eventually done what I wanted it to do, the problem may now lie elsewhere. 

I don’t want to do that and although it still switches off when I make any changes to DHCP, it seems to have, finally, accepted the rule.

I'd not noticed the WiFi out.

Could it be the Hub 3 is expiring all the DHCP IP leases, prior to re-starting the DHCP server with the revised Reserved IP Addresses list.