cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Change IP address using modem mode

edison65
Joining in

I'm trying to change my seemingly static IP, but CS said that my Hub 3 is linked to that IP from start and can't simply change it, either use a VPN or put it in modem mode and using another router I can get a new IP.

I'm not good with networking, so I wonder how it's done. I have a TP-Link Archer AX50 which should be able to do MAC cloning, but I don't understand the whole process to force an IP change.

Anyone managed to get a new IP like this before?

3 REPLIES 3

g0akc
Problem sorter

Your public IP is unlikely to be static unless you have a business account or are paying for one somehow - however the public IP address for your hub is 'linked' to the MAC address of the hub/router on VM and will rarely change.

If you connect your own router, using DHCP, with the hub in modem mode, it will have a different MAC address to the hub and will therefore solicit a new public IP address from the Virgin Network servers using the BOOTP/DHCP process.

There's no need to bother with MAC cloning (though that will let you change it again and again in the future).

Thousands of people will have obtained a new IP address this way as did I.

Put your hub in modem mode and set up your own router appropriately.  You may need to reboot during the process - there are details in other posts on here.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I know a bit about Wi-Fi, Telecoms, and TV as I used to do it for a living but I'm not perfect so don't beat me up... If you make things you make mistakes!

newapollo
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person

Hi @edison65 

Try the following method to set it all up:-

Put your router into DHCP mode - then remove all cables switch it off at the mains
Put Hub into modem mode - leave it 5 minutes and then switch it off.