cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Broken cable under new driveway

Elaineprentice
Tuning in

I have recently removed the grass in our front gardgrass and replaced it with an additional parking space.   The cable runs underneath the new driveway area.  Last night, the wifi went off although the tv & landline are still working.  I have booked a technician for Monday. Will they have to lift the driveway or can they run a new cable away from the new parking area?   Also i would have expected that we would have no services if that cable was damaged?   Thanks

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Can you reach 192.168.0.1 now?

Even if the broadband is down you should be able to reach the hub pages.

And try area faults line

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I know a bit about Wi-Fi, Telecoms, and TV as I used to do it for a living but I'm not perfect so don't beat me up... If you make things you make mistakes!

See where this Helpful Answer was posted

9 REPLIES 9

g0akc
Problem sorter

The live TV should use the same coax cable as the broadband.  The landline may use different wires on the same cable or may be using VoIP (is the phone connected to the back of the hub or to a separate wall socket?).

Are wired (Ethernet) internet connections working?

If you don't have any wired devices such as PC or laptop available, check if your TV box has an Ethernet connection (as well as the coax connection).  Do on demand TV services and apps like iPlayer work?

Is it just the wireless connection in the house or the whole broadband connection to the house?

If you go to 192.168.0.1 and then 'hub status' what does that show?  paste the information here.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------