Menu
Reply
  • 9
  • 0
  • 0
OLDUN51
Joining in
852 Views
Message 1 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Broadband slow

I'm a newby here and not a techy so please keep any replies plain and simple.

Where to start? I have the VIVID 150 package with TV Fun. Tivo box and Superhub 2.

Three of us in a bungalow, each with a tablet. We've been finding the wifi dropping out and slow for some time.

The tv pixelates, pauses, jumps and loses sound. It's slow between menus and buffers.

I've checked the broadband speed at Speedtest.net several times and have a download speed of less than 9 Mbps and upload speed of about 0.85 Mbps.

I've rebooted, switched off, unplugged, all to no avail.

I've phoned the 150 number who, though helpful, could only suggest rebooting.

The Tivo box 2nd to left green light will flash when tv is switched off. When going to Settings/Network connections it says "Cable disconnected. Error N27".

Switching Tivo box off and on again makes green light steady and error message gone.

I've checked cables and connections in the house and can't find anything amiss.

The one thing I have noticed is that the coaxial cable that comes into the house, through the wall, then into the small box, has a sharp kink in it. Possibly furniture has got pushed against it.

Could this be causing all the problems? If so, can an engineer replace it? I know I shouldn't attempt it.

It would excellent if someone can point me in the right direction. 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 8.22K
  • 846
  • 1.28K
jbrennand
Alessandro Volta
837 Views
Message 2 of 14
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Broadband slow

Ok - you are in the right place.  I am not a techie either but there are plenty on here who are some of whom will reply.   A VM staff member should also pick it up within a week and will test your connection and if faulty will arrange an engineer.    Firstly do you mean Tivo or is it a V6 box?  A kinked cable is never good - I guess it depends on how kinked/bent it is and whether it is damaged but that could be the root cause as the TV and Hub both seem affected.  In the meantime do you have a computer/laptop that you can plug into the Hub via an ethernet Cat5e (or better) cable so that you can test the Hub performance over cable ?   It would also be useful if you post up here the information stored in the Hub settings.  I will post instructions below for you to have a go at.

Post up your network connection details and someone will check to see if there is a problem there.  Go to http://192.168.0.1  (or http://192.168.100.1 ) in your web browser [there is no need to login] and then click on the  “router status” icon at the top right of the first page up -- and then copy/paste 3 sets of data onto here (3 separate posts ok) - the numbers/dat in downstream, upstream , &  network logs.  Don't worry about the formatting it can be easily read (by others & not by me!), but try and avoid using screen shots & don’t include personal data or mac addresses - strike them out.

Here is an example of how they should appear

https://community.virginmedia.com/t5/Speed/Slow-Speeds-since-upgrading-to-350/td-p/3844792

If someone spots a network connection problem, a VM Forum staff member on here will organise a technician visit or you may be quicker calling the help line for that and citing the forum discussion and details.


--------------------
Services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
  • 9
  • 0
  • 0
OLDUN51
Joining in
821 Views
Message 3 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband slow

Channel Type2.0N/AN/A2.0
Channel ID1N/AN/A3
Frequency (Hz)46200000N/AN/A32600000
Ranging StatusSuccessOtherOtherSuccess
Modulation64QAMN/AN/A32QAM
Symbol Rate (Sym/sec)5120000N/AN/A5120000
Mini-Slot Size2N/AN/A2
Power Level (dBmV)50.75N/AN/A50.75
T1 Timeouts0000
T2 Timeouts0000
T3 Timeouts450040
T4 Timeouts0000
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 9
  • 0
  • 0
OLDUN51
Joining in
810 Views
Message 4 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband slow

Frequency (Hz)202750000210750000218750000226750000234750000242750000250750000258750000
Lock Status(QAM Lock/FEC Sync/MPEG Lock)LockedLockedLockedLockedLockedLockedLockedLocked
Channel ID910111213141516
Modulation256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM
Symbol Rate (Msym/sec)6.9520006.9520006.9520006.9520006.9520006.9520006.9520006.952000
Interleave DepthI=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
Power Level (dBmV)-2.21-2.49-1.54-2.60-1.65-2.71-2.12-2.47
RxMER (dB)37.6437.6438.2637.3638.6137.9437.9437.94
Pre RS Errors3217317432769975320283373624038335034764320423773133434431670253
Post RS Errors2087790322348121207642622617674924043537214474941834294220341215
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 9
  • 0
  • 0
OLDUN51
Joining in
808 Views
Message 5 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband slow

First TimeLast TimePriorityError NumberDescription
12/10/2018 16:17:57 GMT12/10/2018 16:17:57 GMTWarning (5)84020200Lost MDD Timeout
12/10/2018 15:55:55 GMT12/10/2018 15:55:55 GMTCritical (3)82000200No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out
12/10/2018 15:49:39 GMT12/10/2018 15:49:39 GMTWarning (5)66050310Auth Success - Web login successful.
12/10/2018 15:49:04 GMT12/10/2018 15:49:04 GMTWarning (5)66050300Auth Fail - Web login failed.
12/10/2018 15:48:36 GMT12/10/2018 15:48:36 GMTWarning (5)66050310Auth Success - Web login successful.
12/10/2018 15:46:09 GMT12/10/2018 15:46:09 GMTCritical (3)82000200No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out
12/10/2018 15:44:08 GMT12/10/2018 15:44:08 GMTWarning (5)66050310Auth Success - Web login successful.
12/10/2018 15:42:00 GMT12/10/2018 15:42:00 GMTWarning (5)66050310Auth Success - Web login successful.
12/10/2018 15:39:44 GMT12/10/2018 15:39:44 GMTWarning (5)66050310Auth Success - Web login successful.
12/10/2018 15:39:08 GMT12/10/2018 15:39:08 GMTWarning (5)66050300Auth Fail - Web login failed.
12/10/2018 15:21:19 GMT12/10/2018 15:21:19 GMTWarning (5)84020200Lost MDD Timeout
12/10/2018 15:17:18 GMT12/10/2018 15:17:18 GMTCritical (3)82000200No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out
12/10/2018 15:16:59 GMT12/10/2018 15:16:59 GMTWarning (5)84020200Lost MDD Timeout
12/10/2018 15:16:17 GMT12/10/2018 15:16:17 GMTCritical (3)82000200No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out
12/10/2018 15:11:45 GMT12/10/2018 15:11:45 GMTWarning (5)84020200Lost MDD Timeout
12/10/2018 15:07:13 GMT12/10/2018 15:07:13 GMTCritical (3)82000200No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out
12/10/2018 15:06:59 GMT12/10/2018 15:06:59 GMTWarning (5)84020200Lost MDD Timeout
12/10/2018 15:03:47 GMT12/10/2018 15:03:47 GMTWarning (5)84020200Lost MDD Timeout
12/10/2018 15:03:47 GMT12/10/2018 15:03:47 GMTWarning (5)84020200Lost MDD Timeout
12/10/2018 15:03:47 GMT12/10/2018 15:03:47 GMTWarning (5)84020200Lost MDD Timeout
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 9
  • 0
  • 0
OLDUN51
Joining in
806 Views
Message 6 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband slow

Boy, was that painful!

Said I wasn't techy.

Probably posted stuff in wrong order.

Hope it makes sense to someone.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 9
  • 0
  • 0
OLDUN51
Joining in
791 Views
Message 7 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband slow

PS, yes it is a Tivo box.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 8.22K
  • 846
  • 1.28K
jbrennand
Alessandro Volta
756 Views
Message 8 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband slow

Well done !  It does look as if some info is missing bur someone else will take a look and advise.


--------------------
Services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 9
  • 0
  • 0
OLDUN51
Joining in
756 Views
Message 9 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband slow

I believe I might be missing a marble. Seriously, I appreciate your help and hope  soon.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 9
  • 0
  • 0
OLDUN51
Joining in
754 Views
Message 10 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband slow

There goes another marble! Someone help me please! 

0 Kudos
Reply