Menu
Reply
  • 62
  • 0
  • 3
Quinn
On our wavelength
102 Views
Message 11 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: A few issues I would like to solve finally

Just checked network log, is this a concern?

 

Time Priority Description

2018-11-27 19:05:55.00Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=
2018-11-28 04:43:44.00criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=
2018-11-28 12:53:59.00Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=
2018-12-01 12:19:34.00ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-CMTS-MAC=
2018-12-01 13:16:19.00Warning!

RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=

CMTS-MAC=

2018-12-01 17:04:02.00critical

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=

-MAC=

2018-12-01 17:40:44.00Warning!

RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=

CMTS-MAC=

2018-12-02 00:43:57.00Error

DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=

-MAC=

2018-12-02 04:04:10.00Warning!

RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=

CMTS-MAC=

2018-12-02 06:56:08.00Error

DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=

CMTS-MAC=

2018-12-02 11:42:24.00Warning!

RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=

CMTS-MAC=

2018-12-02 12:21:48.00Error

DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=

CMTS-MAC=

2018-12-02 13:08:22.00Error

DHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=

CMTS-MAC=

2018-12-02 15:02:01.00Warning!

RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC

CMTS-MAC=

2018-12-03 17:11:59.00critical

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=

CMTS-MAC=

2018-12-03 17:37:50.00Warning!

RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=

CMTS-MAC=

2018-12-05 08:22:58.00critical

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=

CMTS-MAC=

2018-12-05 14:16:58.00Warning!

RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=

CMTS-MAC=

1970-01-01 00:01:35.00critical

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=

CMTS-MAC=

2018-12-05 21:20:06.00Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=CMTS-MAC=

 

Mac address/numbers removed Smiley Happy

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 143
  • 2
  • 37
carnivalist
Superfast
100 Views
Message 12 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: A few issues I would like to solve finally


@Quinn wrote:

To be fair Virgin have been great for me and I have been with them for will over 12 years. 

Just these annoyances I want to try and solve, perhaps some settings in the modem/router settings or something minor that can be done just to improve it!


I've been with them through the NTL/Telewest/Blueyonder eras and their broadband has always been rock solid. In fact it's probably the one thing that has kept me from leaving during earlier eras, especially when Virgin first took over when the company was infuriating in many other respects. It did seem to be the case that some years ago Virgin Media upped their game in various areas compared with their former failings  - and noticeably so by comparison with the infuriating Virgin Mobile - but in recent months the broadband seems to have gone over a cliff for some reason.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 62
  • 0
  • 3
Quinn
On our wavelength
88 Views
Message 13 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: A few issues I would like to solve finally

Network log posted above, upstream and downstream here. Bear in mind it is performing OK tonight...

Upstream

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

14620000046.5512016 qam57
22580000046.3512016 qam60
33260000046.3512016 qam59
43940000046.8512016 qam58


Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000

 

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Downstream

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

1203000000-2.540256 qam9
2483000000-4.540256 qam30
3475000000-4.440256 qam29
4467000000-4.540256 qam28
5459000000-540256 qam27
6451000000-4.540256 qam26
7443000000-4.240256 qam25
8323000000-3.540256 qam24
9315000000-3.540256 qam23
10307000000-3.540256 qam22
11299000000-340256 qam21
12291000000-3.440256 qam20
13283000000-340256 qam19
14275000000-340256 qam18
15267000000-340256 qam17
16259000000-3.240256 qam16
17251000000-3.240256 qam15
18243000000-340256 qam14
19235000000-340256 qam13
20227000000-2.738256 qam12
21219000000-2.740256 qam11
22211000000-2.740256 qam10
23195000000-2.240256 qam8
24187000000-2.240256 qam7



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked40.31291486
2Locked40.3184209
3Locked40.9199334
4Locked40.3254251
5Locked40.3265271
6Locked40.3180268
7Locked40.3241245
8Locked40.3260452
9Locked40.9284472
10Locked40.3343343
11Locked40.3442508
12Locked40.3445308
13Locked40.9356278
14Locked40.9463558
15Locked40.3445453
16Locked40.3445463
17Locked40.3452459
18Locked40.3660454
19Locked40.31905443
20Locked38.69334565
21Locked40.3774370
22Locked40.3520400
23Locked40.32518536
24Locked40.317128199
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 277
  • 18
  • 28
chenks
Fibre optic
75 Views
Message 14 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: A few issues I would like to solve finally


@Quinn wrote:

I am just doing various speedtests, they are all over the place from various sources.

Speedtest.net starts high (350mb to 400mb) but declines constantly and ends on around 60mb by time it has finished. Something must be off.

I will get a picture of the outside connections when it is light, they do look a bit sketchy...


you should only do them via ethernet connection.
WIFI can skew the results if the WIFI network has issues (as you stated in point 1).

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 1.6K
  • 88
  • 292
Adduxi
Super solver
62 Views
Message 15 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: A few issues I would like to solve finally


@Quinn wrote:

Just checked network log, is this a concern?

 

 


T3'a are okay if they rise slowly. If the numbers are in the hundreds over a few days, then that is a problem. So, just keep an eye on those.

The power levels are close to the bottom of acceptable range, they should be between -6 and +10, so you are borderline.  If there are any attenuators on the line, you could try removing them and see if the levels rise.  If not, just put them back.

Agree about the WiFi, it's not the best for speed testing as it's reliant on the environment at any given time.  If you have an Android phone, get a WiFi analyser app and walk about the house and check for best WiFi spots.

Have you updated your Linksys firmware to the latest version, as this can improve security and performance and I would recommend you do this.

Also consider a TBB graph  www.thinkbroadband.com/ping  this will show any dropouts on the circuit.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 62
  • 0
  • 3
Quinn
On our wavelength
46 Views
Message 16 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: A few issues I would like to solve finally

Hi, my speedtests ARE ALL via ethernet on my PC, none are via wifi. I should have clarified. I only test via ethernet.

What is an attenuator? If I have some and removing them don't work then what as you say my power levels are borderline.

My Linksys and superhub is always kept up to date with firmware, these issues started with superhub 3.

I actually have been tracking my ping etc from TBB, here is the results from yesterday...

Untitled-2.png

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 62
  • 0
  • 3
Quinn
On our wavelength
37 Views
Message 17 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: A few issues I would like to solve finally

Additionally here is the outside box/wiring. Main connectors are finger tight...

 

1.jpg2.jpg3.jpg

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 62
  • 0
  • 3
Quinn
On our wavelength
11 Views
Message 18 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: A few issues I would like to solve finally

Any further advice from anybody please?

0 Kudos
Reply