cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Transfer Landline Number from Virgin Business to Residential

Hamslay
Tuning in

Hi,

I've had Virgin Business cable broadband, along with a landline, for severalyears. I have decided to switch to the full Virgin bundle including TV, and so have had to open a new residential account. My new install is next week, and I have set my Virgin Business account to cancel next month. However, I have a problem. When opening the residential account over the phone, the sales person was unable to accept the existing landline number for porting over as it was already with a different division of Virgin. Apparently they can only port a number with another provider. If I wait until the business account closes, that number will then return to BT and I will lose it. I have been using this number for 15 years but it seems to be a problem for Virgin to move this number to my new line. Is it really impossible? Is there a team I can contact to try to sort something before the number is lost?

Thanks in advance.

Tim

11 REPLIES 11

John_GS
Forum Team
Forum Team

Hi Tim.

Thanks for posting and welcome to the residential account side of the business 🙂

I fully get what you're doing here and why you want to keep the same number, I cannot give you a guarantee but I will try my best for you

I shall PM you now to assist further.

Kind regards,

John_GS
Forum Team

Need a helpful hand to show you how to make a payment? Check out our guide - How to pay my Virgin Media bill

Anonymous
Not applicable

Sorry to jump in on this thread, but I am currently experiencing the same issue in which the business side has said they are unable to move my number across to residential.

Was the above issue able to be sorted somehow? If so, I would love to be able to keep the number before it is lost.

Serena_C
Forum Team (Retired)
Forum Team (Retired)

Hi @Anonymous

Welcome to our Community Help Forum 🙂