cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Do landline phones now really have to connect to the router?

CMurray1
Joining in

A friend of mine, a pensioner who is also on Virgin, has a faulty TV box, and has been told that when she gets a new one, she'll have to plug her landline phone into the router instead of the wall socket. Is this true, and why?

She doesn't want wires trailing down the stairs, and so wants to continue using the phone's wall socket. Is this possible, please?

10 REPLIES 10

kizi
Forum Team (Retired)
Forum Team (Retired)

that is correct we have a new system call 21cv (voip) the land line have to connect to the hub with a adapter 

Here to help! I'm a technician helping out whilst working from home. Find out more

HowardML
Superuser Emeritus
Superuser Emeritus

That is only true for new installations. Where only a TV box is being replaced then the existing phone service continues using the wall socket. But in due course and certainly by 2025 all phone lines will run through the VM Hub as described. Also true for BT and other providers. They are all moving in due course to this new system. 

https://www.virginmedia.com/help/home-phone/virginphone#whatishappening

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

I see. Thanks for the replies.

Hi

I think I have a similar problem. Just moved to a new house and tried to plug our landline into the wall socket and the phone is displaying check phone line. Called up virgin and they've said I need to connect it to the back of the router with my Ethernet cable but it doesn't fit. What adaptor do I need?

HowardML
Superuser Emeritus
Superuser Emeritus
Phone VM and ask them to send you one. You should have had one in your quick start pack or been given one by the installation tech.