Menu
Reply
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Andy221267
Joining in
590 Views
Message 1 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Data roaming in northern cyprus

Why after being told off virgin mobile can i not use my data and phone allowance in Northern Cyprus

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 1.06K
  • 38
  • 52
Forum Team (Retired) David_Pn
Forum Team (Retired)
577 Views
Message 2 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Data roaming in northern cyprus

Hello Andy221267

 

Welcome to our community pages and thank you for posting.

 

We apologise for any service issues encountered. Can we just check are you in Cyprus at the moment?

 

What happens when you try to connect to the local network? Do you receive any error messages etc? 

David_Pn
Forum Team

Need help changing SIM card? Find out more about activating your 4G ready SIM. 4G SIM Swap Help


0 Kudos
Reply
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Andy221267
Joining in
571 Views
Message 3 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Data roaming in northern cyprus

David

Yes i am in northern Cyprus and i have not connected to the local service because i received a text mesaage from virgin saying i am out of the eu and would be charged for data roaming.  This is despite being told by virgin i would be able to use all my allowances whilst in Cyprus

Regards 

Andy 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 639
  • 27
  • 38
Forum Team
Forum Team
569 Views
Message 4 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Data roaming in northern cyprus

Hi Andy221267 

 

The following countries are included. 

 

Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Canary Islands, Croatia, Cyprus, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, French Guiana, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Guadeloupe, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Madeira, Malta, Martinique, Mayotte, Monaco, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Reunion Islands, Romania, Saint Barthelemy, San Marino, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, The Czech Republic, The Netherlands, The French Antilles, Vatican City (Italy. 

 

You many be connecting to a mast in a surrounding country. 

 

Kind regards 

Chris. 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Andy221267
Joining in
568 Views
Message 5 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Data roaming in northern cyprus

Hello Chris

I've attached two screenshots of the messages I've received since entering Cyprus. We're getting conflicting messages and wish to know whether we can use our data allowances of calls, messages and data without being charged- that's all we wish to know. 

Many thanks 

Andy

Screenshot_20190723_220349_com.google.android.apps.messaging.jpg

 

Screenshot_20190723_220345_com.google.android.apps.messaging.jpg

 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 639
  • 27
  • 38
Forum Team
Forum Team
567 Views
Message 6 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Data roaming in northern cyprus

Where about in Cyprus are you and what country is it saying you are in? ^CW

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Andy221267
Joining in
566 Views
Message 7 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Data roaming in northern cyprus

I am in Kyrenia Northern Cyprus and according to virgin mobile i am in Turkey

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 639
  • 27
  • 38
Forum Team
Forum Team
564 Views
Message 8 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Data roaming in northern cyprus

I have looeked at Cyprus and can see that it is close to Turkey and the phone will connect to the strongest signal. Have you tried doing a network search? ^CW

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Andy221267
Joining in
550 Views
Message 9 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Data roaming in northern cyprus

After doing a manual search these are the only providers listed please see attached photo : Screenshot_20190724_071241_com.android.phone.jpg

 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Andy221267
Joining in
542 Views
Message 10 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Data roaming in northern cyprus

Screenshot_20190724_071241_com.android.phone.jpg

 

0 Kudos
Reply