cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Xbox says No for Wifi, No for ethernet, Yes for android Hotspot

jennifersmith74
Tuning in

Hi, I am trying to set up a new Xbox one console but although we can get a wired connection (shows in router management page as connected) Xbox says it is not connected with the usual network issue error codes.
Trying to connect via wifi it says there is an issue with the modem/router. With hints on opening ports etc. All would lead me to believe that the problem is with the Xbox but then as a last resort I hot spotted from my phone and that works perfectly. 
I have tried 5g 2.4g I have tried removing the wifi security, setting the mac address a reserved IP address, Manual setting on the Xbox and automatic settings, resetting the Xbox and all the usual troubleshooting tips Microsoft provide for powering down etc and I have tried (complete novice at this) to open the ports on the router following the lost provided by Microsoft typing the same port number in each of the four boxes selection UDP or TCP as appropriate and selecting on in the final section. Not sure if maybe I have any of that wrong. Still no joy. 
As a final gasp, I did a factory reset of the hub (sorry should have said it's a hub3) allowed it to update and repeated the above steps. 
I am all out of ideas, surely if the Xbox was failing it wouldn't use the phone's hotspot, so it must be a router or virgin issue? Your help is appreciated, I'm pulling my hair out. 
Thanks, Jenny

11 REPLIES 11

Adduxi
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person

Perhaps step back as you have made changes to the Hub etc.  Try the following with a known good Cat 6 cable.

Do a full 60 second pin hole reset and do NOT power the Hub off afterwards, just let it do it's thing and settle for 10 minutes or so.

Do a Factory reset on the XBox.

Connect the XBox and Hub via the cable, it should get an automatic DHCP address and work?