Menu
Reply
  • 3
  • 0
  • 1
Gm2077
Tuning in
332 Views
Message 1 of 7
Flag for a moderator

PS4 Test internet connections results all over the place...

I had new wifi put like 3 days ago on Tuesday I switched from talktalk and the gaming worked fine for games like fortnite as soon as i switch to virgin the wifi is very slow and i can't play

I would like to know if it can be fixed or if it is a thing that happens for a couple of days until it settles in.Thank you

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 1.46K
  • 43
  • 163
RedGooner
Knows their stuff
314 Views
Message 2 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: PS4 Test internet connections results all over the place...

Gaming on WiFi is not for all.

The Router VM gave you (SH3) is useless for gaming. It just not go the computing power. Its ok to surf with.

Most gamers on VM put the SH3 into Modem mode, and get there own router.

What band of wifi are you on 2.4GHz or 5GHz ??

--
Red (VM SH2 AC Beta tester)
Running on 350Mb VM service with SH3 in Modem Mode, with a ASUS RT-AC5300 router. With this setup I get Fantastic WIRED and WIRELESS Signals in my home. I dont work for VM. But I work in IT, and I know my tech.
My advice is at your own risk.
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 3
  • 0
  • 1
Gm2077
Tuning in
310 Views
Message 3 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: PS4 Test internet connections results all over the place...

I used both the 2.4 and 5 hertz

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 3
  • 0
  • 1
Gm2077
Tuning in
307 Views
Message 4 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: PS4 Test internet connections results all over the place...

What hub is good for all round performance and gaming

  • 2.55K
  • 127
  • 340
jpeg1
Trouble shooter
289 Views
Message 5 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: PS4 Test internet connections results all over the place...

No WiFi router will give the same gaming performance as an ethernet wired connection to the Hub. 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 3.68K
  • 438
  • 1.17K
Superuser
Superuser
277 Views
Message 6 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: PS4 Test internet connections results all over the place...


@Gm2077 wrote:

I had new wifi put like 3 days ago on Tuesday I switched from talktalk and the gaming worked fine for games like fortnite as soon as i switch to virgin the wifi is very slow and i can't play

I would like to know if it can be fixed or if it is a thing that happens for a couple of days until it settles in.Thank you


Cable connections don't need time to "settle in" so either the quality of the wireless signal is not good enough or there is an issue with the connection to your property.

In order to establish where the issue lies you should carry out a test with the PS4 connected via Ethernet cable to the hub.  If a wired test is also slow then that suggests a connection issue and some hub stats would help.

To get hub stats, go to http://192.168.0.1/ (or http://192.168.100.1/ if you are in modem mode) to get the VM hub GUI. Don't login (unless you have a Hub 3 and this is your first visit to the hub GUI, which does require you to login) but instead click on Router Status which is either a button in the top right of the screen or a text link at the bottom of the screen depending on which hub you have. Click on the Downstream, Upstream and Network Log sections and copy & paste the figures from those screens and post them here, don't worry about the formatting or you can post screenshots if that is easier. Be careful to edit out or obscure any reference to your WAN IP or MAC address in the log to protect your privacy.

The community can have a look for you and see if anything in the figures looks wrong and advise accordingly. Or you can wait for the VM staff to pick up this thread in a few days.  Staff will also ask you to test via Ethernet as the first step in diagnosing your issue.

My PS4 is connected via Ethernet and I have no issues with playing online.

______________________
Scott

Disclaimer - I don't work for Virgin Media. I'm just another VM user trying to help out.
My setup: V6 TV box, Vivid 200 Optical fibre with Hub 3 in modem mode connected to a Netgear R7000 router. Telewest/VM user since 2001.

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 4
  • 0
  • 0
bikerty
Joining in
257 Views
Message 7 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: PS4 Test internet connections results all over the place...

Hi 

I am just jumping onto this conversation as well as my PS4 is so up and down and I have a wired connection direct to the SH3.

Sometimes I have download of 90M and upload of 5M but sometimes its download of 15M and upload of 250K!! its so inconsistent and is worse on the WiFi.

Playing Apex at the moment and consistently get hammered by people with superior connections.

Anyway, giving serious thought to purchasing a Netgear Nighthawk XR500, can anyone recommend this?

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

1462000574.05512064 qam43
2326000293.95512064 qam45



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000

 

Network Log

 

Time Priority Description

16/04/2019 09:00:25ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
16/04/2019 18:12:6criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
17/04/2019 00:01:7ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
17/04/2019 01:01:17criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
17/04/2019 07:31:28Error

 

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

1594750000040256 qam24
2442750000238256 qam5
34507500002.438256 qam6
44587500001.538256 qam7
54667500001.938256 qam8
64747500001.538256 qam9
74827500000.940256 qam10
84907500001.538256 qam11
94987500001.740256 qam12
105067500000.438256 qam13
0 Kudos
Reply