Menu
shanematthews
Super solver
Message 3561 of 4,479
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3 / Compal CH7465-LG (TG2492LG) and CGNV4 Latency Cause

@Sephiroth wrote:
http://eur-lex.europa.eu/LexUriServ/LexUriServ.do?uri=OJ:L:2008:162:0020:0026:ENSmiley TongueDF
... contains the definition of "terminal equipment" as applied to the piece of EU law referred to in the ISp Review article. The law can be found at:
https://eur-lex.europa.eu/legal-content/EN/TXT/?uri=CELEX:32015R2120

And yes, "terminal equipment" means the kit that connects you to the Internet. Wonderful.

I'm not a lawyer but, the first article does state a couple of important things, firstly it states that "Member States shall ensure that economic operators have the right to import, market, connect, bring into service and maintain terminal equipment." in this instance VM would be the "economic operator" so they have the right to do these things and it also very specifically states further on "Public telecommunications network" the VM network isn't a "public" network its privately owned, privately operated and privately funded, in this case it would sound very much like this clause wouldn't even apply to VM with it being a private network they are free to impose restrictions on what can or cannot connect to their private network, considering this legislation dates back to atleast 2015 and one of the earlier articles it links to goes back to 2008, so this is hardly "new" and if it actually applied then it would have been brought up a long time ago

0 Kudos
cje85
Super solver
Message 3562 of 4,479
Flag for a moderator

By public network it means a network that members of the public can access, as opposed to a private network such as a business intranet. It is not referring to publicly or privately owned.