Menu
Reply
Pawkins
  • 9
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
306 Views
Message 1 of 13
Flag for a moderator

High latency/ping

I have had high latency and ping for the last 3 weeks. 

Pawkins_0-1612724364979.png

Virgin media do not want to help, they either tell you to reset the box or don't answer. 

Tested hard wired to the Modem, not a Wi-Fi issue.  Tested alternative Ethernet cable. 

Not sure what to do.  Image above from the last few minutes, up to 999ms+ in games, also makes voice over IP impossible at work.

 

0 Kudos
Reply
conman33158
  • 873
  • 81
  • 123
Superfast
260 Views
Message 2 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: High latency/ping

Can you please upload your router stats

Type 192.168.0.1 or (192.168.100.1 if you have your Hub in Modem mode) into your address bar at the top of your browser

For Hubs 2 & 3 - DO NOT LOG IN, just click “Check Router Status”

For Hub 4 - When the page appears LOG IN then click on:

Advanced Settings > Tools > Network Status.

Please copy and paste the contents of the Downstream, Upstream, Configuration and Network Log tabs, if you get a yellow warning just click the Post button again. You can use more than one post for each item if needed.

If you get a warning when you hit “Post” just hit “Post” again and it should work ok!

Please do not use screenshots

Also can you please setup a Broadband Quality Monitor (BQM) at thinkbroadband.com. Just click on Create a new monitor.

Post a 'Live Link' to your BQM on here asap.

Under your graph you just created Click (Share Live Graph) then click generate.

Copy the text in the Direct Link box and paste it on here

***********************************************************************************************************************************
Super Hub 4.0 (modem mode) - Gig1 Fibre FTTP - Asus RT-AX82U & Asus RT-AX56U with AiMesh setup
***********************************************************************************************************************************
My Broadband Ping - conman33158
0 Kudos
Reply
Pawkins
  • 9
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
234 Views
Message 3 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: High latency/ping

Thanks for the reply, I have included what I hope is everything below:

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/f259e88bf5f052dccc574759e7c265e528...

Acquired Downstream Channel (Hz)

331000000

Locked

Ranged Upstream Channel (Hz)

60299876

Locked

Provisioning State

Online

 

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

1 331000000 6.1 38 256 qam 25

2 267000000 5.6 38 256 qam 17

3 275000000 5.6 38 256 qam 18

4 283000000 5.6 38 256 qam 19

5 291000000 5.5 38 256 qam 20

6 299000000 5.8 38 256 qam 21

7 307000000 5.9 38 256 qam 22

8 315000000 6 38 256 qam 23

9 323000000 6.1 38 256 qam 24

10 339000000 6.5 38 256 qam 26

11 347000000 6.4 38 256 qam 27

12 355000000 6 38 256 qam 28

13 363000000 6.3 38 256 qam 29

14 371000000 6.5 38 256 qam 30

15 379000000 6.5 38 256 qam 31

16 387000000 6.3 38 256 qam 32

17 395000000 6.5 38 256 qam 33

18 403000000 6.6 38 256 qam 34

19 411000000 6.5 38 256 qam 35

20 419000000 6.5 38 256 qam 36

21 427000000 6.5 38 256 qam 37

22 435000000 6.5 38 256 qam 38

23 443000000 6.3 38 256 qam 39

24 451000000 6.4 38 256 qam 40

0 Kudos
Reply
Pawkins
  • 9
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
232 Views
Message 4 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: High latency/ping

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1 Locked 38.6 11 0

2 Locked 38.9 17 0

3 Locked 38.6 15 0

4 Locked 38.9 15 0

5 Locked 38.6 12 0

6 Locked 38.9 13 0

7 Locked 38.9 12 0

8 Locked 38.6 14 0

9 Locked 38.6 16 0

10 Locked 38.9 12 0

11 Locked 38.9 11 0

12 Locked 38.9 13 0

13 Locked 38.9 12 0

14 Locked 38.6 8 0

15 Locked 38.9 9 0

16 Locked 38.9 9 0

17 Locked 38.6 12 0

18 Locked 38.9 10 0

19 Locked 38.9 7 0

20 Locked 38.9 9 0

21 Locked 38.9 7 0

22 Locked 38.9 12 0

23 Locked 38.9 24 0

24 Locked 38.9 6 0



Refresh data

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

1 60299876 46.8 5120 64 qam 1

2 39399932 45.3 5120 64 qam 4

3 46199930 46.8 5120 64 qam 3

4 53699888 46.8 5120 64 qam 2

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1 ATDMA 0 0 0 0

2 ATDMA 0 0 0 0

3 ATDMA 0 0 0 0

4 ATDMA 0 0 0

0



General Configuration

Network access

Allowed

Maximum Number of CPEs

1

Baseline Privacy

Enabled

DOCSIS Mode

Docsis30

Config file

sfd;kfoA,.iyewrkldJKDHSUB

 

Primary Downstream Service Flow

SFID 22594

Max Traffic Rate 230000061

Max Traffic Burst 42600

Min Traffic Rate 0



Primary Upstream Service Flow

SFID 22593

Max Traffic Rate 22000061

Max Traffic Burst 42600

Min Traffic Rate 0

Max Concatenated Burst 42600

Scheduling Type BestEffort





Network Log

Time Priority Description

08/02/2021 14:05:4 notice LAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

08/02/2021 14:04:57 Warning! LAN login FAILED : Incorrect Username / Password / ConnectionType;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

08/02/2021 14:03:49 notice LAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

04/02/2021 09:16:6 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

03/02/2021 14:42:44 notice DHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt060-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

03/02/2021 14:42:44 Error DHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

01/01/1970 00:01:38 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

28/01/2021 14:27:44 Warning! RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

28/01/2021 13:42:29 notice LAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

01/01/1970 00:01:40 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

25/01/2021 20:23:35 notice LAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

25/01/2021 20:22:48 Warning! LAN login FAILED : Incorrect Username / Password / ConnectionType;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

21/01/2021 20:11:4 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

21/01/2021 19:58:57 notice DHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt060-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

21/01/2021 19:58:57 Error DHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

20/01/2021 17:15:18 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

18/01/2021 12:33:55 notice DHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt060-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

18/01/2021 12:33:55 Error DHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

12/01/2021 15:01:14 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

12/01/2021 02:55:14 Warning! RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

0 Kudos
Reply
conman33158
  • 873
  • 81
  • 123
Superfast
226 Views
Message 5 of 13
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: High latency/ping

Your router stats are fine but your BQM shows high over utilisation which is never a good sign. You can ring Virgin about this with maybe a fix date for the future but to be honest I wouldn’t hold my breath as they have a tendency to apply fix dates only to keep moving them forward and then ending up with nothing being done for months/years.

***********************************************************************************************************************************
Super Hub 4.0 (modem mode) - Gig1 Fibre FTTP - Asus RT-AX82U & Asus RT-AX56U with AiMesh setup
***********************************************************************************************************************************
My Broadband Ping - conman33158
0 Kudos
Reply
Pawkins
  • 9
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
213 Views
Message 6 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: High latency/ping

Thanks for taking a look, I will continue to contact them directly.

Wish me luck!

0 Kudos
Reply
conman33158
  • 873
  • 81
  • 123
Superfast
209 Views
Message 7 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: High latency/ping

Good luck mate, the problem with the lockdown is it's putting more pressure on a network that was never designed for this much abuse, hopefully when things get back to some sort of normal the network with level out again, either that or Virgin expand the network to compensate, whichever comes first 🙂

***********************************************************************************************************************************
Super Hub 4.0 (modem mode) - Gig1 Fibre FTTP - Asus RT-AX82U & Asus RT-AX56U with AiMesh setup
***********************************************************************************************************************************
My Broadband Ping - conman33158
0 Kudos
Reply
Cold_Hands
  • 12
  • 0
  • 2
Tuning in
194 Views
Message 8 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: High latency/ping

Yeah I understand that but why are we paying full price/why are they still taking on new customers? It really sucks atm

0 Kudos
Reply
conman33158
  • 873
  • 81
  • 123
Superfast
190 Views
Message 9 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: High latency/ping


@Cold_Hands wrote:

Yeah I understand that but why are we paying full price/why are they still taking on new customers? It really sucks atm


I wouldn't know mate, I'm just another Virgin customer 🙂

***********************************************************************************************************************************
Super Hub 4.0 (modem mode) - Gig1 Fibre FTTP - Asus RT-AX82U & Asus RT-AX56U with AiMesh setup
***********************************************************************************************************************************
My Broadband Ping - conman33158
Pawkins
  • 9
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
184 Views
Message 10 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: High latency/ping

I have to assume it's a fault in my area they haven't figured out yet, this is what the third lockdown?  And the issue started just over three weeks ago.  

I do miss BT sometimes.  Say what you will but I've had more trouble in 1 day with Virgin Media than I did with 3+ years of BT.

0 Kudos
Reply