Menu
Reply
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
BradVM
Joining in
456 Views
Message 1 of 7
Flag for a moderator

High latency, and some packet loss

Hi all,

I have been experiencing high latency on my 100Mb/s VM connection at peak(ish) times (roughly 4pm - 2am according to my attached logs), as well as some corresponding packet loss. I have had an engineer out who has confirmed 'something' wasn't right and had passed it onto the networks team - I have yet to hear back.

The problems started many weeks ago, and I have been monitoring my connection for some time. I have a SH3 but I don't think my issue is solely due to the known Puma 6 chipset problems. The connection becomes unusable for online gaming at certain times (mainly due to rubber banding, so I am assuming high jitter/packet loss - but average latency can be over 120ms), VOIP breaks up and speeds can sometimes slow to ~10Mb/s.

Please find attached recent BBM logs as well as SH3 status info. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

8a401a9bec4f83c88cb687913e3c2bbf6ebe3c03-30-12-2017

 

ea6a4b1799ed42873d91b1100d961893e36ef394-01-01-2018

 

b23602403507c0e407af55d9a128d664f34dd8fa-02-01-2018

 

23d72340b54faa7dcb22cd4177d339538cff1143-04-01-2018

 

Cable Modem StatusItem Status Comments

Acquired Downstream Channel(Hz)
299000000
Locked
Ranged Upstream Channel(Hz)
36800000
Locked
Provisioning State
Online
 
Upstream bonded channelsChannel ID Frequency(Hz) Mode Power(dBmV) Modulation Channel Bandwidth(Hz) Symbol Rate (ksps)
136800000ATDMA39.516 qam64000005120
230200000ATDMA39.516 qam64000005120
Downstream bonded channelsChannel Frequency(Hz) Power(dBmV) SNR(dB) Modulation Channel ID
12990000008.340.3256 qam21
23230000007.840.3256 qam24
33150000007.940.3256 qam23
4307000000840.9256 qam22
52910000008.340.9256 qam20
62830000008.540.3256 qam19
72750000008.540.9256 qam18
82670000008.940.3256 qam17
9259000000940.9256 qam16
102510000009.440.9256 qam15
112430000009.640.3256 qam14
122350000009.840.9256 qam13
132270000009.940.3256 qam12
142190000001040.3256 qam11
152110000001040.3256 qam10
1620300000010.440.9256 qam9
1719500000010.440.9256 qam8
1818700000010.440.3256 qam7
1917900000010.340.9256 qam6
2017100000010.140.3256 qam5
211630000001040.9256 qam4
221550000009.840.3256 qam3
231470000009.840.9256 qam2
241390000009.940.3256 qam1
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 10.31K
  • 375
  • 1.17K
Forum Team
Forum Team
347 Views
Message 2 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: High latency, and some packet loss

Morning BradVM

 

I am sorry you are having problems with latency, the BQM graphs do seem to demonstrate the problem that we have in the area with high traffic at certain times, we are already aware and would like to carry out some upgrade work, the reference is F005872625 with a current review date for work showing 15 FEB 2018, please accept our apologies.

By the way the hub downstream power level is a little bit high, it is just out of spec we like to see them below 10dBmV, although I must stress I do not think it is anything to do with your issue. If you would like an engineer to take a look at those levels please reply to the forum message I am about to send you.

 

Thank you

Nicola

Virgin Media Forum Team
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 58
  • 0
  • 11
chriswheeler
On our wavelength
329 Views
Message 3 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: High latency, and some packet loss

Tell him about the issue with the super hub 3 as well Nicola, or would you rather purposely mislead customers. 

  • 52
  • 1
  • 4
j0s800
On our wavelength
301 Views
Message 4 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: High latency, and some packet loss

We're all getting extremely annoyed about this super hub thing, virgin media should acknowledge it if it's an issue, I've already had an engineer's visit and nothing was fixed.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 600
  • 10
  • 49
DarkBahamut
Fibre optic
294 Views
Message 5 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: High latency, and some packet loss


chriswheeler wrote:

Tell him about the issue with the super hub 3 as well Nicola, or would you rather purposely mislead customers. 


Because the issue with the customers packet loss and very high average latency has nothing to do with the SH3 at all. The issue is the one that has been detailed.

Given the utilisation fault it's like the SH3 is actually helping due to increased bonding and load balancing. Unfortunately people fixate on the SH3 without any consideration about how it or the network actually works. Sure, feel free to tell the OP to get a SH2 so their connection can get even worse once they drop to 8 DS channels Smiley Frustrated

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 58
  • 0
  • 11
chriswheeler
On our wavelength
264 Views
Message 6 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: High latency, and some packet loss

I didn't say the issue was that he doesn't have a SH 2. I said there's an issue with the super hub 3, which there is. If the OP could use another router that had 24 channels would the issue improve? yes it would

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 58
  • 0
  • 11
chriswheeler
On our wavelength
263 Views
Message 7 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: High latency, and some packet loss

you can see from his BQM graphs that the issue gets worse in the evening, the graph is still absolutely horrendous during non peak times because of the chipset issue

0 Kudos
Reply