Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Urgent help needed on outlook app for iPhone 13 and windows 10 outlook app also

owengriff
On our wavelength

Hi all

Please help

I have been using the outlook app on an Apple iPhone 13 for many years. I use it for my email which is an old virgin media email used in the Uk. On the phone and on the ho laptop I use I have the same outlook app a blue app in the shape of an envelope. I configured the setting a to virgin media pop and have Ben able to receive, send and forward emails for years. Recently they both stopped working. I can receive emails and send blank test ones but unable to forward any emails. If I forward one it says error your username or password is incorrect or the sending sever is incorrect. I have complained to virgin media who keep saying if I am able to login to a web browser on the virgin email website and see emails, send and forward then it isn’t their issue. This I can do. So I deleted the password for my virgin media account and reset up a new one and better encryption. I deleted the account settings in the outlook app on the phone and laptop using windows 10. I reset the apps back up and clicked on the email account settings and added my email address and then clicked pop settings but that’s it. It now keeps asking me as soon as the virgin settings are populated to check my username and password and won’t set the account up to use?

Help please quite technically trained

22 REPLIES 22

用心棒
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person

It would be helpful to see what, if any, error code is returned by the SMTP server in this situation. From a desktop or laptop device open a Command Shell in Window or otherwise a Terminal. and enter the following where username:password is replaced with your email address and password, i.e. richard.branson@virginmedia.com:Y54kpX5g:

curl -v smtps://smtp.virginmedia.com -u username:password