cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

My emails have stopped being received by a friend in the USA

marcho
On our wavelength

I've been emailing a friend in Florida for several years ok.  Suddenly they do not receive the emails.  They gave me another address to use on Gmail and that worked once now neither work.  How can I find out where the problem is, on the way there or blocked etc there.  I've had them check their 'spam' folder.  Even tried a simple text email with no attachments.

Thanks

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

coenoby
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person

@marcho wrote:.

Very strange and inconsistent.

Thanks for doing all this, it is very strange.

I have just been doing some tests of my own.

The first was to set up an AOL email address - another to add to my already lengthy list.😄

The next was to send a series of emails to AOL:

• from my Gmail account directly and also using Outlook
  • direct from my Ntlworld webmail account
  • from my Ntlworld account using Outlook
  • from one of  my private domain email accounts.

Here's what I found:

• every email from Gmail arrived in the AOL inbox
  • all emails from my Ntlworld account (whether direct from webmail or via Outlook) went into my AOL spam folder. I will also say that the AOL interface does not show any indication from the Folder list that there are unread messages in spam. You have to open the folder to check that.
  • I replied to the Ntlworld emails and when they appeared in Ntlworld webmail I replied back to AOL - those replies were received by AOL but appeared in the spam folder
  • similarly emails from my private domain went into AOL spam.

So what does that say?