cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Lots of Mail Delivery System e-mails

anightin
Tuning in

Dear All,

Over the last month I've been receiving about 10 or so Mail Delivery System e-mails with the subject being 'Undelivered Mail Returned to Sender', mostly with the following error:

host mx.tb.ukmail.iss.as9143.net[212.54.56.11]
said: 421 4.2.0 MXIN618 Temporary SMC Policy Violation detected, retry
later
;id=eYfnnsdSc8ArqeYfon0nPw;sid=eYfnnsdSc8Arq;mta=mx2.tb;dt=2022-04-13T10:48:25+02:00;ipsrc=64.99.140.10;
(in reply to end of DATA command)

Help!

Many thanks

Andy

18 REPLIES 18

anightin
Tuning in

For those having similar problems, the background seems to be that I'm using an e-mail redirection service for a domain that I own. I've been using this for many years, but the problems have only started recently, so I guess technology has caught up and now needs further authentication.

I reported this to the domain hosting company I use and they gave the following response:

I have added SPF and DKIM and DMARC records to your domain for you, this usually fixes any issues with e-mail deliverability issues such as the one you are having. Please allow 2-24 hours for this to fully propagate and please get back in touch if any issues reoccur. I will list the information that I have added below:

Domain Keys Identified Mail (DKIM) is a method for associating a domain name to an email message, thereby allowing a person, role, or organization to claim some responsibility for the message. 

Sender Policy Framework (SPF) is an email validation system designed to prevent email spam by detecting email spoofing, a common vulnerability, by verifying sender IP addresses.

DMARC, (Domain-based Message Authentication, Reporting, and Conformance) is an email protocol; that when published for a domain; controls what happens if a message fails authentication tests (i.e. the recipient server can't verify that the message's sender is who they say they are).