Check your service statusCable National
Searching for something?
Reply
Making Waves
nygal28
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎26-03-2011

Wireless network not showing up

Hi, I'm having trouble viewing my wireless network on the available network list on both of my PCs. It used to work 3 months ago, but then I was travelling and when I got back my network is not showing up on both of my lap tops, yet it is visible on my blackberry (when I try to view WIFI networks there). Thanks so much for your help.

Please use plain text.
Superuser
paultechy
Posts: 8,676
Registered: ‎08-06-2010

Re: Wireless network not showing up

can you supply what version your running on the PC's, anything you've tried already to fix it, wen you scan for wifi on your PC's does it find any others, if so how many. and can you also supply the router's make and model.

----------------------------------------------------------
If someone's helped you out say thanks by clicking on the Kudos Star. If someone's solved your problem, why not mark their message as an Accepted Solution
Please use plain text.
Making Waves
nygal28
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎26-03-2011

Re: Wireless network not showing up

Hi, I do see other wireless networks (a lot of them), but not mine. The router is D-Link DSL-2640R Broadband Wireless G ADSL2+ Router. I tried restarting my computer (both laptops), but still won't show up. I had other people staying at my place and it worked for them. Maybe the settings on my PC somehow got messed up, because I can see the connection on my blackberry when I am viewing available wireless networks.

 

Thanks so much

Please use plain text.
Superuser
paultechy
Posts: 8,676
Registered: ‎08-06-2010

Re: Wireless network not showing up

can you supply the version of windows running on each machine since your best bet first is to remove the wireless network from pref network list, since it's different depending on windows version. 

this will mean you'll need to re-enter your wireless password. 

 

----------------------------------------------------------
If someone's helped you out say thanks by clicking on the Kudos Star. If someone's solved your problem, why not mark their message as an Accepted Solution
Please use plain text.
Making Waves
nygal28
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎26-03-2011

Re: Wireless network not showing up

It's Windows XP. I will try removing the network and restarting my PC

Please use plain text.
Making Waves
nygal28
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎26-03-2011

Re: Wireless network not showing up

Hi I took off the preferred network, but it is still not showing up. Is there anything else I can do?

Thanks so much

 

Please use plain text.
Good to Know
Hoggie
Posts: 416
Registered: ‎07-09-2010

Re: Wireless network not showing up

check in device manager that the wifi cards in the pc's are still ok.

http://community.virginmedia.com/t5/TiVo/quot-Tips-amp-Tricks-quot/td-p/435283
Please use plain text.
Good to Know
Hoggie
Posts: 416
Registered: ‎07-09-2010

Re: Wireless network not showing up

also check in services that windows zero configartion is still running.

 

sometime windows zero needs a restart to see wifi networks.

 

windows logo key + R> type in the run box services.msc for services.

 

windowslogo key + R> type in the run box, devmgmt.msc for device manager

 

hope that helps

Phil

http://community.virginmedia.com/t5/TiVo/quot-Tips-amp-Tricks-quot/td-p/435283
Please use plain text.
Making Waves
nygal28
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎26-03-2011

Re: Wireless network not showing up

[ Edited ]

Thank you. I tried and everything is working ok (windows zero restarted and the wireless card) but my network is still not showing up. I see other networks but not that one and the weirdest thing is that my friends can access it (it is visible) on their iphones. Is there anything else I can do? Thanks!

Please use plain text.
Good to Know
Hoggie
Posts: 416
Registered: ‎07-09-2010

Re: Wireless network not showing up

Do you have wep switched on?

its the older type of encryption, sometimes xp would not see a network if the encryption was set to something else.

 

Failing all this you could reset the router,its a small pin hole at the back of the router.

You will have to reset all your security.

 

next step is driver updates for the wifi cards.

 

 

been a long time since i had XP :smileyvery-happy:

http://community.virginmedia.com/t5/TiVo/quot-Tips-amp-Tricks-quot/td-p/435283
Please use plain text.